Special Edition: We Rule Goes Black

If you read this blog, you play and if you play you already know about the upgrade (unless your boss is a real bastard and kept you at work late on Friday so you couldn’t play). Level 50 comes with a new Regal Palace.

In the comments I posted a pic (okay, it was really a joke) claiming that it really would be a sapphire palace as I (sort of) predicted, but I had to Photoshop the levels to really brighten the picture.

The new regal palace installed. It must be night, because the lights seem to be on. Carol, is reluctant to upgrade when she hits L50 (which should be soon) because she still believes the current castle is the color of the UT Longhorns. Had they not gone 5-7 this year, she probably wouldn’t be considering the upgrade at all.

Click image to see full size

But it could be argued that the tiling isn’t black, it’s dark sapphire blue. So I was sort of correct. Okay, I was wrong about everything but the fact that L50 and a new castle would be released. But it’s out, along with the next blockbuster building the Black Dragon.

Which is really black, by the way. It even sells a total eclipse.

I guess the black dragons are so big they eclipse the sun. This screenshot is from my iPhone, taken when I was ordering to get the numbers for the analysis update. That retina display is awesome.

Click image to see full size

The Friday upgrades are so much more exciting than the series finale of Medium, which also happened today and made the series finale of Lost seem satisfying in retrospect. I didn’t mind the Six Feet Under with spirits finish, it was the totally stupid (and foreseeable) dream plot that led up to it. In case you recorded it, I won’t spoil the ending, but it will become pretty obvious as soon as Joe’s phone call is disconnected.

Back to the blog.

The Black Dragon delivers 3500 combined points in 24 hours, making it the best customer and vendor deal now. Even better, it takes up even less space than the red dragon, and tucks together better even without stacking. You can fit three black dragons in only a little more space than it took for two red dragons. The dragons themselves are twice the size of the red dragons and really suck the light out of the graphic display.

The black dragons are pretty big, almost twice the size of the red and purple dragons. They don’t glow blue like they do on the splash screen.

Click image to see full size

That may be why they saved it for L50. I wouldn’t be surprised if all those Olympus mounts filling the top 25 kingdoms will be replaced this week. If I were really playing for the top of the leader board, I would install 30 in my main kingdom. I’m not, but I have definitely scattered quite a few around.

The new regal castle and black dragons really change the visual composition of your kingdom. But they should draw customers as soon as they open for business.

Click image to see full size

They cost just under a million coins, or 55 mojo. That’s three times the coin price of the red dragon, but only five more mojo. It also installs for 5 mojo for constriction time, so that’s one of the best mojo deals around. Players who have just reached L50, and not yet flush with cash might want to spring for the mojo to add a couple more than the cash purchases they’re planning.

Customer’s should also be aware that it takes 20m to accelerate the delivery, so unless the vendor has a lot of money to blow on mojo they will probably not speed up delivery.

It might also make more economic sense to hold off on upgrading your castle since the cost is the same as a black dragon. I would seriously consider installing at least two black dragons before upgrading your castle.

The vintage chateaus, chimera’s temples and Olympus mounts all filled with orders pretty quickly, and mine are filling up as soon as my other orders deliver.

As for the new crops, the mushrooms deliver a thousand coins per hour (and 125 xp), which is an incredible return. If you can afford to revisit your kingdom every hour and want to earn coins for your black dragons without sacrificing experience, I would plant them. (The venus fly traps deliver better experience points, 250 per half hour but they wilt almost immediately.)

By L50, however, you should have 28 farms and that equates to 100,000c every four hours. This will make a dent in the price of the black dragon over a few days. If you intend to speed up crop delivery with mojo, however, just spring for the dragon itself. You will spend fewer mojo.

The mushrooms can build up your cash reserves quickly. They are definitely not hallucinogenic.

The new garlic isn’t a stellar performer. I am testing endurance to see if it lasts longer than the sunflowers.

Click image to see full size

The garlic doesn’t seem to be good for much of anything at that level. There are much better producing crops further down the levels. Maybe We Rule will add a Pizzaria that needs the garlic to produce (taking their cue from Trade Nations). I’m testing it to see if it’s more hardy than the sunflowers or birds of paradise.


Contact me at Email iPad Envy, or
Email The Hidden Grimoire.

22 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ravenpuff
    Jan 22, 2011 @ 05:44:55

    I don’t know about you, but the voodoo hut has to go. I don’t know why, but there is something cheap and pandering to its aesthetics. So far (before the voodoo hut/glass upgrade) i had finally attained one of every building. I am contemplating not installing a voodoo hut, or if I do, stick it with my fortune teller, broom boutique and magic emporium to keep with the whole retail magic mini-mall theme.

    The glass blowing shoppe looks kind of kitschy, like someone visited the Bellagio in Las Vegas (refer t this picture: http://www.shutterstock.com/pic-518445/stock-photo-bellagio-s-lobby-with-ceiling-by-dale-chihuly.html) and pulled up some Google results of Murano glass and slapped together something a bit over the top. A simpler design would have been more appealing.

    The new dark castle is very interesting. I guess all those “VADER RULES!” fans of villainy will certainly be thrilled. I like the change in hue and tone. If anything it’s a change from the white/cream colored castles. I like it, if anything for variety.

    Reply

  2. LocoCoyote
    Jan 22, 2011 @ 07:53:34

    Great site and a very interesting review/update. However, I am having trouble following your mushroom math…….

    Cost 5000 per, returns 4000 per which = 1000 coins profit per hour. This is as you stated. At level 50 we have 28 farms which = 28000 coins profit per hour.

    looking at the total numbers gives you a cost of 140000 and a return of 112000. The difference is, again, 28000

    so how do you get 100000?

    Any news about when they will free the “locked” Ruby Groves for us poor suckers who unknowingly put more than 49 into our inventories?

    Support just keeps quoting the next update to me (I can actually hear them “whoosh” by as they pass without fixing it)

    Reply

    • Totalthinker
      Jan 23, 2011 @ 23:32:52

      As everyone has noticed, my mushroom math is spurious, or at least my human math about mushrooms. I have amended the blog to fix the typo.

      However, the idea that math is a universal construct is a false assumption based on the brain is computer metaphor. To assume that mushrooms and humans share the same math is specist. To the mushroom species the correct number would be 100,000 which is the universal value they assign to everything since they consider themselves to be manifestations of the same organism. If you play the iPad game The Mushroom Age this will all become clear.

      Reply

  3. LocoCoyote
    Jan 22, 2011 @ 09:46:16

    My Math is even worse! I meant 5000 to buy and 6000 return!

    😦

    Reply

  4. rob88249
    Jan 22, 2011 @ 21:40:28

    The black dragons are small when your viewing someones kingdom. About half the size of the red and blue ones, they look like a blowfly!

    They might only look big when your in your kingdom and not to others?

    Reply

    • Totalthinker
      Jan 23, 2011 @ 23:18:34

      Actually, they exist in two states, which I realized later. In one state they puff up to about twice the size of the other dragons. But when they start flying they return to normal size. I don’t know if this was intentional or a line of code that accidentally scaled up the graphic.

      Reply

  5. Jorge
    Jan 22, 2011 @ 22:50:19

    Thanks for the always prompt updates, don’t mean to question your math, but 1000/h per farm gives you 28000c an hour, not 100000c

    Reply

  6. SirCake
    Jan 23, 2011 @ 04:27:17

    Using 28 farms to plant mushrooms gets you 28,000 coins every hour, not 100,000. But you knew that. 🙂

    Reply

    • Totalthinker
      Jan 23, 2011 @ 23:16:13

      Duh, yes. Carol doesn’t proofread those special editions so I can get them up right away. I typed the wrong sentence and then the wrong side of my brain took over.

      I could also say the dragons made me do it.

      That was clearly a typo. I meant to say about 100,000 every four hours. So you will not get halfway there in an afternoon.

      Reply

  7. SirCake
    Jan 24, 2011 @ 01:28:19

    I’m glad you could accept our “Well, actually…” comments with the good humor that was intended. I have to say that your analyses and charts are among the best of all the We Rule sites. Thanks for all you do.

    To LocoCoyote:
    I’ve had more than 100 ruby groves in inventory – I currently have more than 90. I have had no problems getting things in or out of inventory. This is on an iPad – I don’t know how it works on an iPhone or touch.

    Please friend SirCake!

    Reply

  8. Joegodfinger
    Jan 24, 2011 @ 04:07:10

    One more change on that came in with the latest update, they put a limit on the number of ruby groves bought with coins per realm, currently it’s at 198 for level 41. I wish I had finished my west real design before the update, I’m now missing 144 groves, I guess it’s a way to limit stacking 😦

    Reply

    • Totalthinker
      Jan 24, 2011 @ 22:32:54

      This seems to vary from player to player. ngmoco:) has assured me they don’t remove groves any more, so you might contact ngmoco’s support email. They also assured me that they’ve always return the value of the coins when they did this in the past.

      This doesn’t mean they haven’t changed again. Acehound has reported that they scan kingdoms at random and removed groves, so their public position and actual practice may not be consistent. There will be a contest soon to offer winners a chance to learn some player’s secrets to getting around the lockouts.

      Reply

      • Joegodfinger
        Jan 25, 2011 @ 03:30:12

        Oh sorry, I see how my choice of words leads to misunderstanding. No groves were removed.
        I was working on a design before the latest update, and at level 40 I had 198 ruby groves and no lock, I just didn’t have the coins to buy the missing 162 groves to finish the design, after the update ruby groves on that realm were locked asking me to level up to build more.
        At this point I changed the design a bit and put 5 groves back on inventory, I wasn’t able to put them back on that realm so I moved them to the south, after leveling up I was able to build 5 more but this was no help since I need 144 more to finish my design.

  9. Moontown
    Jan 24, 2011 @ 06:43:28

    Have you ever time tested the bamboo for how long it takes to go bad. I forgot mine the other day and six hours later they were still good. Was that a fluke?

    Reply

    • Totalthinker
      Jan 24, 2011 @ 22:34:44

      I don’t test the shorter harvests because I can’t check in every hour or half hour. But I will mention the results in the next crop update.

      Reply

    • Totalthinker
      Jan 27, 2011 @ 06:50:31

      I planted bamboo at 4:30 pm Tuesday and they hadn’t spoiled by 12:30am Thursday, so that’s about 32 hours so far.

      Reply

  10. LocoCoyote
    Jan 24, 2011 @ 07:03:00

    My Ruby Groves are still locked out….I see the “lock” icon over them and get the error “You already have the max amount”

    Support says this is a known bug and keep promising a fix….this has been going on over two weeks now. When I think of all the revenue and experience I am missing…….<<<>>>

    Reply

  11. rob88249
    Jan 24, 2011 @ 07:10:32

    LocoCoyote
    Have you tried to delete the game then re install?
    Has worked o previous issues for me. Might be worth a try

    Reply

  12. Clay16
    Feb 21, 2011 @ 20:29:32

    Hello

    Visit my blog and tell me what you think! And check me out in we rule! I am Clay16

    My blog is werulequests.blogspot.com and it has some great hints, tips, advice and even a trustable friends list!

    Reply

  13. http://en.netlog.com
    Jan 11, 2013 @ 16:55:30

    Hello, thanks a lot for the good piece of writing, it is
    just a truly great one. I know that I have access to a lots of friends that’ll be excited about looking at this. Thanks a lot!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

