We Rule Design Contest

I have two announcements today:

First, I will be taking a month away from blog Monday entries. I will return on Monday March 7 (which is actually only four entries missed).

I will still be updating the site with new building information on the day they are released, with a new analysis each Thursday. And if there’s something I really need to tell you, I will.

But I’m presenting at an international conference on religion and spirituality in society (who would have thought from this blog?) and I need to focus on finishing the slides and travel.

But that’s not the big news.

Readers may be aware that there’s still a lot of uncertainty about the status of stacking (or sliding) in We Rule kingdoms. Some players report locks on new ruby groves. I have also received emails about random scans counting the number of groves in player kingdoms.

ngmoco:)’s official position, at least in their correspondence with me, is that they haven’t been removing groves. But I haven’t received any promises that this will continue to happen. So Acehound has done a number of experiments designed to allow players to maximize the use of sliding while remaining under the radar.

This guy knows his stuff. I’ve posted screenshots of his amazingly well-designed pre-purge wall-to-wall stacks in the past. And this brings me to today’s announcement, the first We Rule: The Hidden Grimoire

We Rule design contest

Players can enter any of three categories:

  1. Theme design for a realm. Players should devote one realm to a specific theme (winter, Santaland, mediterranean, evil dead).
  2. Best use of building repetition. It can’t just be trees, rivers, roads and walls. Players have to build a symmetrical or assymetrical pattern using one to three buildings. They can use decorative objects and additional buildings to compliment the pattern or design.
  3. Most creative stacked object. It can be groves, sleighs or even (good luck on this) oases, but it should be something that returns income.

The prizes

Each winner will:

  • Have their realm presented with a screen shot on this site.
  • Receive a PDF file with Acehound’s stacking secrets. This is stuff I’ve never published on this site, and never will.
  • Be gratified that they have been recognized above the three+ million other players for their efforts.

We will also display screenshots of any other kingdoms we feel have merit. So even if you don’t care about learning Acehound’s secrets to stacking (although I can’t imagine anybody that wouldn’t want the secret just in case), you still have plenty of reason to submit.

Contest rules

  • Entries must be emailed by midnight CST February 27, 2011
  • Players can enter more than one category, but not with the same realm.
  • Players can only win in one category (they don’t need two copies of the PDF brief).
  • Themed realms shouldn’t have any objects that don’t compliment the theme.
  • Entrants must email a screen shot of their entry to wrgrimoire@gmail.com and ace_hound@yahoo.ca.
  • Entries must include “we rule design contest” in the subject field.
  • Entrants should include their plus+ id so we can look at the kingdom.
  • Entrants should include their name and the name of their theme or stacked object.
  • I reserve the right to disqualify any entry I feel is getting too squirrely with the few rules I’ve laid out. If you submit your entry at least one week before deadline, I will let you know if there’s a problem.
  • Neither Acehound, Carol or I can enter this contest.

So get to it. You have a month to go wild in any realm. That should give you plenty of time to harvest crops, plant groves and earn the coins you need to go wild.

Why wouldn’t my gorgeous realm win the theme category? Because the Medusa and chimera really don’t belong in the winter wonderland. The troll bridge and founts could pass, but definitely not the medusa and chimera.

Click image to see full size

See you in the blog spot in a month, and every Thursday with new shops analysis.


Contact me at Email iPad Envy, or
Email The Hidden Grimoire.

20 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Moontown
    Feb 01, 2011 @ 16:46:54

    Sat I had a real problem, couldnt log in for 12 hours. When I got home from work, I had to uninstall and reinstall twice to fix the problem. So point #1 if you go to a friends kingdom and thier ccrops are spoiled give them a couple of days before you give up on them. And point #2 after 3 days my bamboo crops didnt spoil and I gave up waiting because I was loosing so much money not planting mushrooms. see you all in the contest.. sue

    Reply

  2. confuzed1
    Feb 02, 2011 @ 17:51:59

    Reply

  3. Etgohomes
    Feb 05, 2011 @ 01:11:10

    Please add etgohomes I will place order too

    Reply

  4. Superknight98
    Feb 06, 2011 @ 19:56:51

    Is this the “feburary project” that you talked about on the last post?

    Reply

  5. chenderlite
    Feb 06, 2011 @ 20:56:11

    Dumb question…but how do we get screen shots from an iPad?

    Reply

    • Totalthinker
      Feb 07, 2011 @ 21:18:04

      iPad and iPhone both.

      Press and release the power and home button at the same time. You’ll see the screen flash. The screen shot will be saved in the camera roll in your photos app.

      Reply

  6. Moontown
    Feb 09, 2011 @ 21:18:00

    Chenderlite, not a dumb question. It took me a week to figure out how I kept accidently taking pictures of my screen. Im still having problems with my game locking up and not letting me in. I have to uninstall and reinstall which isnt always possible. I have had to every day for a week, and have lost tons of money on mushrooms. Ngmoco hasnt been a big help. Have you heard of anyone else having this problem?

    Reply

    • confuzed1
      Feb 09, 2011 @ 22:11:13

      You shouldn’t have to delete and reinstall.

      Try force-quitting the app instead–

      Double click the home button, and find the We Rule icon in the multi-tasking tray that pops up. Hold down on the icon, and tap the ‘x’, just as you would in the springboard to delete the app.

      You should then be able to load the app back up.

      It sucks that you have to do this.

      Instead of that stupid Hello Kitty wedding chapel, they should have been working on making the game less crashtastic.

      Reply

  7. rob88249
    Feb 11, 2011 @ 09:16:43

    Hello Kitty wedding chapel I like that one haha
    I have to agree worst building they have given us!
    The love heart on the top makes it look corny and it’s hardly in the medievil theme. I wish they would stop selling out to cheap holidays an cater to the fans of the game instead

    Reply

    • TheConfuzed1
      Feb 13, 2011 @ 05:27:10

      I can’t take credit for that.

      Someone else said it, before me, on Mojo Farm. 

      Reply

    • Totalthinker
      Feb 15, 2011 @ 04:08:13

      Ugly but lucrative. However, I think they topped (or bottomed) the chapel with the Tunnel o’ Hate. It’s like, “We have all thsee chocolate lightning patterns left over from the lava rivers. Let’s use them for Valentine’s Day.”

      That being said, there are probably some younger players who still love Barbie and they will probably love the chapel. Especially the We Rule Barbie and Ken bride dolls.

      Reply

  8. Moontown
    Feb 12, 2011 @ 07:58:44

    Has anyone taken the servay that popped up? Mine crashed and wouldnt let me. It’s asking for suggestions to make the game a better game I think my troubles happen when Im stacking for awhile and the game gets glitchy. If I log out thru the plus find a friend section, and then log back in. I havent had it happed again. If I wait till it locks up, then I need the computer to do the uninstall ect.

    Reply

    • TheConfuzed1
      Feb 13, 2011 @ 05:25:47

      You don’t need to use a computer to reinstall an app… Unless you don’t have network connectivity.

      Just delete, and redownload from the app store.

      Your kingdom data is stored on their servers, so you won’t lose anything.

      But again, a force-quit should be all you need.

      Reply

      • Totalthinker
        Feb 15, 2011 @ 04:14:28

        The force quit usually works, but every once in a while even hard rebooting the computer doesn’t fix the game. I think there are some bad memory leaks in We Rule (I notice that push notifications from other apps will actually shut down We Rule and launch the new app without being prompted).

        If the app keeps crashing, I found it is best to just trash and reinstall. This will wipe any data the app has written to your drive or keeps a love in RAM.

        To force quit in iOS 4, double click the quit button to reveal all the running apps. Press on We Rule until you see the delete “x” and then click the “x”. It helps to shut down other apps too.

        To hard reboot, hold down the quit button and power button until you see the silver apple.

  9. ravenpuff
    Feb 14, 2011 @ 04:29:49

    I think the wedding chapel was a chicken cop-out for ngmoco to dodge the religion bullet.

    Reply

    • Totalthinker
      Feb 15, 2011 @ 04:16:25

      It won’t work. As a BPK I can tell you they hate chapels because those are in the Sin City of Las Vegas. Christian marriages happen in a real church.

      Reply

  10. glitchcity
    Mar 07, 2011 @ 22:34:37

    I think ngmoco needs to quit focusing on adding new content about every week and start focusing on how glitchy their software really is…I could spend a huge amount of time listing all the issues and bugs I’ve experienced since I started playing we rule…frustrating to say the least !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

