Design contest winners

Thanks to all the players who took time from making their mojo videos for We Rule to actually design a realm.

The entries were close and the decision was tough but Acehound and I agreed unanimously on the theme and stacking categories. In the repetition category both judges reversed on one-two but one of the judges thought they practically tied. The virtual tie by one judge decided first place.

Your stacking secrets should be on their way.

I created a special category to recognize that fourth entry—the Qbert Extravaganza award. Readers will know why when they see it.

I also selected several other entries for display that I felt showed exceptional merit. I wish I could have showed them all.

I want to thank everyone who entered. If you missed the cut please feel free to invite players to judge for themselves by posting a comment with your player id and a link to a screen shot. Just because we ranked other players doesn’t mean people wouldn’t have picked you.

Theme

Jorge Rojas (joegodfinger) Egypt

Jorge’s theme exploited a water motif with rivers and bath houses. Notice the greater and lesser pyramids. Clean and elegant.

Click image to see full size

Repetition

Amanda Perry (amadnaveronica)

Click image to see full size
Amanda’s realm is highly symmetrical, almost a triptych, but plays off flipping sand and water. Notice how she shifts from warmer colors on the left (yellow, green and orange) to cooler colors on the right.

Stacking

Joost Visser (eendje001)

The stacking is very subtle in this highly patterned entry. Joost creates his entire design from groves, walls and battlements to evoke a highly festive feeling.

Click image to see full size

Qbert Extravaganza award

Susan Moon Escujuri (moontown)

Click image to see full size
Susan’s effort shows in this highly patterned entry, that reminded the judges of a video game from our distant pasts. If she could have emulated Pac Man she might have won.

Special attention

LP (mannanan) contributed a winter village. This may have been left over from the Christmas designs, but I don’t see that as a criticism.

Click image to see full size

Click image to see full size
Robby Cochran (Confuzed1)’s realm could have been entered in any of the three categories. It is both symmetrical and asymmetrical depending on your point of focus.
Deni T. ( JDTagish) may have dropped some acid and listened to the Dead through sound tight headphones when stacking this realm. It finished second in the stacking category.

Click image to see full size
Chuck Henderlite (chenderlite) took second and third in realm design with both Egypt and Rome. This was his Roman entry. Did the Vikings actually invade Rome? I think it was the Visigoths, but my history isn’t that strong.

Click image to see full size

Contact me at Email iPad Envy, or
Email The Hidden Grimoire.

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Moontown
    Mar 07, 2011 @ 19:58:15

    Congratulations to the winners. I wish the contest had hit one month later so that I would have been a level 50 and been able to make more money to design with. I only started with the mushroom a week or so before the end of the contest. Next time maybe you should split levels to make it more fair for lower level players. I had fun. Thanks Moontown

    Reply

  2. Superknight98
    Mar 07, 2011 @ 21:32:32

    Nice job guys! Those realms look totally aweome and hope you all have fun with your stacking secrets.
    (You can send me them if you want);)

    Reply

  3. AmandaVeronica
    Mar 08, 2011 @ 00:26:17

    That Qbert design is ahhh-mazing!

    I had fun.

    Check out the video I did with my b/f (SinfulSavior) for the mojo contest.

    http://wildfireapp.com/website/302/contests/98699/voteable_entries/17162501?ogn=website&order=recency

    Reply

  4. confuzed1
    Mar 08, 2011 @ 01:56:43

    Congratulations to the winners.

    I didn’t win, but I got honorable mention.

    I too, would have been able to do much better had the contest been one month later, as I just recently hit level 50, and mushrooms shortly before that.

    I will continue working on my kingdom, and hopefully there will be more contests to enter into in the future. 🙂

    Reply

  5. JDTagish
    Mar 08, 2011 @ 03:58:58

    Second in stacking – not too shabby. Not good enough for secrets though, sigh… Oh well, maybe next time! All the screenshots show some serious efforts and creativity – I’m going to have to think some about the next redesign!

    Congrats to the winners, you all did an amazing job!

    Reply

  6. slazzier
    Mar 09, 2011 @ 09:49:13

    it was awesome to see an honorable mention for jdtagish, when i saw that realm i had a feeling i would see it here 🙂 every realm posted here is awesome, good job guys, incredible talent 🙂 come check out my kingdom … slazzier 🙂

    Reply

    • JDTagish
      Mar 09, 2011 @ 17:22:09

      Thanks for the kudos – appreciate that someone else likes it too!

      One thing tho, Slaz – if you double order from me, I’m cool with it, but please don’t take 3 black dragons. I’ll reject the order, cause I’ve got a bunch of people who want them. You can have 1 dragon & then order from a vineyard or something else, ok? Thanks!

      Reply

  7. kish123694
    Mar 12, 2011 @ 21:10:47

    Wait Slazzier you know how to order more than once on one person. How?

    Reply

  8. slazzier
    Mar 13, 2011 @ 01:20:43

    sounds good jd, 🙂
    i just order from several at once before it loads the order… rarely works though 🙂

    Reply

  9. JDTagish
    Mar 13, 2011 @ 02:32:01

    I keep trying it when I order from my main kingdom from my second kingdom. I haven’t been able to get it to go through tho. I used to have one person who could order 2 things consistently. I’d love to know how to make that work, if only to order from myself! 😉

    Reply

  10. kish123694
    Mar 13, 2011 @ 05:39:05

    Thanks Slazzier

    Reply

  11. slazzier
    Mar 15, 2011 @ 01:18:51

    Yeah I was super excited when I actually managed to order from 3 black dragons, that would have been $300.00/hour… like 15 minuted later i saw 2 had failed which kinda bummed me out, but the third one was delivered at the same time :):):) JD must have used mojo to complete it instantly which worked out to be $2400 for 15 minutes that was super cool :):):) having said that i will totally respect your wish JD, that I don’t try for multiple black dragons 🙂

    Reply

    • JDTagish
      Mar 15, 2011 @ 03:22:31

      Knowing how challenging it is, and now that there are so many different high return items, if you can get 2 of the dragons, I’ll take the orders. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

