Easter egg hunt

Bunnies, bunnies everywhere. Not at first, mind you, each realm starts with two, but before long there is a bunny infestation.

The bunnies are gone by now, but they were ngmoco:)’s nod to Easter. Not the religious, Jesus rising from the dead Easter that I plugged in my new blog Righteous Indigestion yesterday, but the spring solstice Easter with bunnies and bunny eggs, peeps and candy, that probably sits more comfortably with ngmoco:)’s Japanese parent company DeNA.

The bunnies were impossible to capture mid jump even when they multiplied like crazy. But when they did jump, their ears wiggled like helicopter blades.

I’d originally intended to post a special blog yesterday because a source had written me that ngmoco:) would include a special Easter egg in the game just for Easter weekend. I have been waiting the entire month of April so I could spring the surprise.

According to my source, if I stacked to black dragons together and dragged them on top of the black castle while simultaneously planting six grapes, six garlics and leaving the other farms empty, with the exception of one magic farm which would need to be planted with strawberries, then the giant golden dragon would tap dance on top of the dark castle, my name would appear at the top of the experience points leaderboard for fifteen minutes (to make sure I had time to take a screen shot even if the game crashed six or seven times, which it did) and I would win a million xp.

I tried this six or seven time without success. I realized, at this point, that I had exchanged my black castle for the new lopsided one. So I pulled up the original email to send a reply asking if the castle made a difference and that’s when I noticed the sending date.

It seems while I’d been congratulating myself for my success with my own April Fools prank, He Rules, I allowed someone to punk me.

So there was no special Easter edition of the Grimoire, but there were dozens of bunnies in my realms.

And new wisdom groves.

Wisdom groves

I’m not sure who thought these up. At first I thought it was stupid to have trees growing books, and then I realized they might as well grow books as well as rubies, diamonds and sapphires. But they will probably look pretty surrounding a druid’s library.

They deliver 540xp every six hours (or about 90 per hour) which is a decent return, but almost no coins to speak of. And since they cost 160000c you will never earn your money back.

The wisdom groves look strange even when surrounding a library. But they may have been created to remind of an age, before the Kindle and iBooks, when people read from paper. Now that I think of it, however, real medieval manuscripts, even when bound, were often much larger than this and they didn’t grow on trees.

They may also be ngmoco:)’s subtle response to players asking them to stop requiring mojo for high-yield groves. These groves are so expensive that few L31 players will be able to afford them (or L40 players either).

Are they worth investing in? I swing back and forth. They’re very easy to stack and harvest, but ten will set you back a huge chunk of change. Personally, I think of these as a luxury investment for players who generate so much cash they can afford to piss it away.

On the other hand, I ran the numbers. If you fill a realm with wisdom groves (192) and faithfully harvest every six hours you will earn 400000xp a day. That can push you up the leader board quickly. But remember, you get almost no coins back, so make sure you have enough income generating properties to make sure you can quickly recharge your account after blowing several million on ten or twenty of these.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Moontown
    Apr 26, 2011 @ 00:40:23

    I swear when I first saw the bunnies they looked like jumping chickens. In fact Im not entirely convinced they wern’t. Maybe they were a cross over. Chickens lay eggs, bunnys bring them ? I shall call them brickens. Last night I read something very funny. You know your addicted to we rule when you carry around a sticky note pads to jot down friends who you owe orders to. I laughed loudly as I pulled 3 yellow sticky notes out of my pocket. Oh well, what can I say, Im an addicted we rule nut!

    Reply

    • pjsplantation/v3gasvamp1
      Apr 30, 2011 @ 18:44:43

      too funny moontown, I carry a notepad and last week I had no wifi and my WR froze up cuz of the update…I had to find a hotel parking lot with WiFi and sit there while the update loaded..now Ill tell you it was the only hotel in a small remote town and I had mushrooms planted… Addiction? you bet lol

      Reply

  2. slazzier
    Apr 26, 2011 @ 06:22:16

    so i thought i was quite awesome when i got my first magic farm and started growing magic bamboo, then i realized as i leveled up i would finally get to grow these famous mushrooms everyone’s been talking about and it dawned on to me “hey maybe there would be magic mushrooms for me to grow…” but obviously I must have been trippin’ or hallucinating or something:-) I mean a bunny layin eggs??? what was in that chocolate anyway? must have been some good stuff:):):)

    Reply

  3. chezmah
    Apr 26, 2011 @ 18:13:38

    yeah …. i thought that they were chickens too !
    i got all excited and said to my husband : “look sweetie, there seem to be little white chickens hoping all over the place”. he really looked at me funny, shook his head and did not answer as i kept scutinizing my screen wondering wtf is this.
    the worst part is that it took me a couple of hours before it suddenly dawned on my poor brain… and so i called out : ” well of course !!! its easter and maybe they are bunnies and not chickens…and they are all over the place !!!”
    now my hubby knows i’m a bit nuts but this time he REALLY gave me the look like i had gone off the deep end … especially since just the day before i had explained to him that HARVEY was a 6 ft 2 rabbit or “pookah” cause my husband’s french and had never heard of the film Harvey with James Stewart (from way back when i was a kid).
    anyway thanks ngmocco for the “easter brickens” as moontown calls them and the chuckles they gave while passing thru our kingdoms !

    Reply

  4. JDTagish
    Apr 27, 2011 @ 02:36:59

    “I shall call them brickens.” – ROFL!

    In case anyone was wondering, the wisdom groves max out at 50 per realm. The battlements max out at 150 – 50 of each type.

    I think that rather than trying to avoid stacking, they are now putting a 50 limit to things, which kind of auto-limits stacking too much of anything new.

    Reply

  5. Jiji808
    Apr 28, 2011 @ 21:31:24

    No bridge to go with our new Buckingham palace? Or is that one of the special gifts from the gift cart? Please say it ain’t so.

    Reply

  6. Lycopodium
    Apr 29, 2011 @ 00:54:56

    Is it just me or is there the face of a man on the hat of the Royal guard?
    By the way, I haven’t really seen an improvement in the crashes despite the upgrade.

    Reply

  7. pjsplantation/v3gasvamp1
    Apr 30, 2011 @ 18:40:48

    alas yes JiJI 808 the bridge seems to be a special gift… sorry to say…

    Reply

  8. Lycopodium
    May 01, 2011 @ 16:09:06

    Yes, it seems the bridge is a gift.

    They mention 7 Royal Wedding Exclusive gifts.

    Here are the ones I found:

    • Normal tower bridge
    • Black tower bridge
    • Normal royal carriage (blue and gold)
    • Black royal carriage
    • Royal jewelry shop
    • Royal place of worship
    • Floral arch?

    Any ones I’m missing?

    Reply

    • Totalthinker
      May 04, 2011 @ 02:46:34

      I haven’t seen the royal place of worship but thanks because I recall them listing it in their publicity.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

