Get your goals on

It took me awhile to catch on to the pirates. At first I didn’t think much of them because I was so pissed. I had waited most of Friday night to see if they would release new shops on the off chance they would, and then released the shops I had been holding.

You see, I used to spend a lot more mojo running these numbers for you guys, because I had to use it to release shops so I could make room to order from my faux kingdom. A few weeks ago I realized that if I hold off on releasing shops for a couple of hours in the late afternoon, I can time it to coincide with new building announcements and save twenty or thirty mojo.

Usually a later Friday release is no big deal, it’s only one shop. And since I do the charts and analysis on Thursday I only have to slip one new column into the new shops chart. But this week, as you know, ngmoco:) launched a major mandatory upgrade so there wasn’t much to analyze.

Quests are out. Goals are in. The announcement looks more like a sampler than a display, but that may have been the intention. Will we be happy with the changes? That remains to be seen.

Then, as I am about to wind down for the evening, I check in to fill any last minute orders and suddenly there’s all this stuff: Skull Island, pirate harbor and pirate port. Now I have to discharge more shops (with mojo), plant three new buildings, spend the mojo to construct them and process three orders from my faux kingdom, and stay up until two in the morning typing the charts.

Which meant I had to stay up until five to get the writing done that I was already behind on. On a Friday night, when I should have been asleep (or, when I was much younger, partying).

So it wasn’t until Saturday that I realized the harbor pirate character was a woman, which meant she was a woman because Penelope Cruz joined the cast of Pirates of the Caribbean, which means this whole damn weekend release was just another blockbuster movie tie-in.

An entire Friday tied up for a movie promotion. What’s next? X-Men? Transformers? If that’s too much of a stretch, I’m sure they can work in Planet of the Apes. They already have the monkey king from the old quest era.

Bye bye quests

Yes, we can already speak fondly of the old quest era because it’s been replaced by the new “goals” era. Goals are a checklist of tasks that earn coins and experience.

We Rule presents you with a list of goals. As soon as you complete one, a new goal is added to your list. You can actually complete the task, or just spend mojo.

Your tasks can include planting several different crops to make a pizza, or building a navy and adding cannons. Quite often you have to collect orders from other players for the new items you install.

At first I didn’t mind the goals. I could always install buildings from my inventory. But ngmoco:) caught on to that trick almost immediately and upgraded the upgrade within hours. Now you actually have to spend coins to buy items to earn more coins.

Each time you complete a goal, you get a little notice saying you finished. That’s it. Then you’re on to the next one. You don”t even get to relive your accomplishments by finding them listed in the achievements list.

That was when I quit playing the goals. I realized the coins I earned might not even pay back the coins I spent to install the items. I could spend less on one wisdom grove and keep earning experience points in the future. Who would have thought my enjoyment of the upgrade would end so quickly?

Personally, I enjoyed the quests more. I enjoyed them more because of the cool swag you could earn. The cute little thrones and leprechauns and the oases. Sure, the ones we earned are still available, but I was looking forward to more. And I don’t want to have to spend mojo to get them as gifts. I want to earn them.

So why did ngmoco:) dump the quests and replace them with goals? The answer is simple: to sell mojo. Most of you have already figured out that the whole point of goals is to sell more mojo. You probably got the hint when you noticed that you could spend mojo to finish the goals without doing any work at all.

If you didn’t get the hint, ngmoco:) launched another mojo sale to make sure you made the connection. So you can spend mojo to complete goals, or spend mojo to install buildings to complete the goals without spending mojo on the goal itself.

I looked in the achievements list to see if ngmoco:) at least allows you to keep track of goals completed to relive our days of glory. No such luck. Nor do they keep a list in the Game Center.

I hate to say this, but why doesn’t ngmoco:) quit shuffling around the issue, and simply put the leader board slots up for a cash bid? They could even bid out the top 25 every week or every other week. They could raise enough cash to pay quarterly bonuses to everyone on staff, and the rest of us can earn coins and buy everything with coins.

As it is, Carol is already on Facebook trying to organize Mojo Anonymous, a twelve-step group for mojo addicts. We’ve joked about it in the past, but now I think she’s serious.

66 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ravenpuff
    May 23, 2011 @ 18:20:16

    I notice that there is a lot more crop heavy goals, besides the more “build it yourself” strategy.

    And the tie in to movies coming out is somewhat commercial. Are they getting a kick back or are they riding coat tails of the movie release frenzy. The only movie tie in I’d be truly interested in is Harry Potter 7:pt 2. Malfoy Manor done as a dark wizard’s lair. The ruins of Hogwarts. Weaseley’ Wizarding Wheezes shop as a magical joke shop, and a wand shop? Maybe Griffins, raven, snakes and badgers to go with the new buildings? Who knows.

    Reply

    • chezmah
      May 24, 2011 @ 21:38:05

      comments on the latest update :
      1 ) the goals ……. BORING!!!!!
      no incentive, no cute novelties or surprises…. rewards ???? so no goal getting 4 me …. fini !
      2). the gifts …….. even MORE BORING !!!!!!
      same old, same old stuff, again and again…. thatched huts and canonball crates by the dozens… it beats the neverending accumulation of useless corner arabian walls… but not by much !
      to boot, i have nothin but unknowns and therefore my friends are locked out of the list of giftbearers and i cant even return gifts to them.
      3) social map : the navigation arrow was small and tricky in the previous version, now its even smaller and trickier to the point that sometimes i cant move off a level without rebooting ! the list of “actives” is in constant jet lag as even though your notified that so and so has delivered… the friend only becomes active after rebooting !
      4) PLUS + keeps opening up when i’m shoping in friends kingdoms…. very annoying !
      in general, i find that the ipad responds poorly to the new version, plenty of crashes of course, but when it is running, the play is not smooth but plagued with erratic lags and a spaztic responses to commands.
      DO LOVE the PIRATE theme though !!!

      Reply

  2. jiji808
    May 24, 2011 @ 05:17:24

    Oh man, If they added Harry Potter content I’d fall back off the ‘no mojo’ wagon for sure (again).

    Reply

  3. Pjsplantation/V3gasvamp1
    May 25, 2011 @ 00:15:00

    Wow don’t like this new WR. My iPad is constantly crashing. Big white squares on top of the gift wagon which freezes the entire game. Lag and drag..as for the gifts and goals. Yuck. Lost balloons so don’t see what is ready to collect… What else?… Good? love the pirate theme and the Monday gifts are pretty decent. Would also love Harry Potter Stuff. Sons a big HP fan. Happy Ruling.

    Reply

  4. rob88249
    May 26, 2011 @ 00:23:56

    I also miss quests I’m not in the slightest interested in the goals!

    Leveled up to 54 didn’t receive my 5 mojo after the level up confirmation very annoyed.

    Also last but not least I’m prompted to sign into the iTunes store before I even start playing and during playing every 5 minutes or so. Talk about mojo hungry!

    Stop trying to take the fun out of the game ngmoco.

    Reply

  5. Moontown
    May 26, 2011 @ 02:46:48

    I went away for a week and all HECK broke out. New is not always better. I have been enjoying smooth playing since Mothers day when I got my Ipad 2, but not now. I too keep getting a big white box that freezes up the game, and plenty of crashes to boot. And yet, I still love playing. 🙂 What can I say, Im addicted!

    Reply

  6. chezmah
    May 26, 2011 @ 05:29:38

    sure looks like the new managment at ngmoco is shifting its policies to cash in as much as possible. sounds pretty much like modern corporate mentality: no concern for the user/client, lets do what it takes to increase share profit.
    wait and see…. if it continues, it will only encourage me to join WRA (WR Anonymous) !
    I wrote them yesterday saying that it was becoming boring to spend 4x more time dealing with their glitches than playing the game. we have all been real patient but its hard to comprehend why they cant fix whats broken and leave be whats not !

    Reply

  7. confuzed1
    May 26, 2011 @ 07:45:37

    Inventoried items do count toward the completion of goals, as long as you have it in inventory, before triggering the goal.

    A couple members of Mojo Farm have been working on this chart:

    https://spreadsheets.google.com/lv?key=0AkDPh4_88-PhdG9mNzhGeFZvV3hFMFJhRXFXcnQ0bFE&hl=en_US&authkey=CJSG2agO&forumid=339260

    There are a couple errors, but a little is added each day.

    There are also multiple threads on Mojo Farm outlining goals that trigger other goals.

    Just stay one step ahead, and inventory the needed items before triggering the goal whenever possible.

    I actually prefer the new goals over quests, but I think they should fix it so that previously placed items count toward the objective.

    Another update is coming out soon too, to squash most of the bugs.

    Reply

  8. confuzed1
    May 26, 2011 @ 07:49:53

    Oh yeah, just so you guys know, completing several of the goals unlocks exclusive items that can’t found any other way…

    Such as a taxidermy, new monuments, and some of the gold items that previously had to be gifted.

    Reply

    • Totalthinker
      May 27, 2011 @ 05:16:58

      So far the only one I’ve seen is the Rialto Bridge. It would help if they would list the rewards with the goals, but I think some players might not play even if they knew.

      I would definitely not spend the mojo to complete the goal. It’s somewhere between 20 and 30.

      Reply

      • confuzed1
        May 29, 2011 @ 01:05:05

        There is also a flower shop that is awarded for completing the goal, A Beautiful Boquet.

    • Totalthinker
      May 28, 2011 @ 08:42:07

      It would be interesting to see more because with the exception of the bridge none of goals I completed delivered anything but points. And when I could no longer complete a goal with an item from inventory (which has been my experience after a late fix by the developers) I’m just not sure it’s worth it to me.

      I know your experience is that you can use inventoried items, but I would be curious to see how long that continues.

      Reply

  9. elyse
    May 27, 2011 @ 18:34:11

    I totally agree with @chezmah above.

    I don’t play the goals at all… except maybe to get the Rialto bridge.
    It’s so boring, not much incentive, and I don’t wanna spend money on buildings I already have!

    Also, I almost accidentally pressed “new friends” on the social map every time I want to click on the navigation arrow (to the next page), because that was where the link was placed before. Why did ngmoco switch it! X___X

    Totally not happy with the new update!

    Reply

  10. Elizabeth
    May 27, 2011 @ 20:13:02

    My problem with the goals is that so many of them now depend on someone else coming to your kingdom and requesting something…whereas the quests were where I go out and do the request!
    I had control over that, but I don’t have any control over what other people request…everyone wants to the kraken and such…who’s going to randomly request something at the horse stables?

    –eliza422

    Reply

    • Totalthinker
      May 28, 2011 @ 08:38:20

      I think that if enough players don’t do the goals (or—more importantly—if no one spends mojo to complete them) they will go away.

      I only complete the goals with objects so I can tell players if they’re worth spending the mojo (or time) to complete the goal. If the rialto bridge is an indication, I would have to say I’m skeptical.

      Reply

    • confuzed1
      May 29, 2011 @ 01:07:39

      The wording they use, “Collect a Friendly Order,” makes it seem like that’s what they mean, but it is actually an order that you place, and take delivery of.

      There are currently no goals that require others to order from you.

      Reply

      • Elizabeth
        May 29, 2011 @ 02:08:59

        Seriously? Now I feel ridiculous! I thought collect a friendly order did mean a friend had to order from me…that is tottally not clear. Thanks for the help! I guess I will change how I go order….d’oh……

      • chezmah
        May 29, 2011 @ 08:07:05

        on the contrary confused, its really nice to read the comments, one does open to new insights when exposed to other’s points of view. so keep the comments coming , i for one enjoy reading everyone’s Q&As….. there’s lots to share and thus to learn !
        particularly since ngmocco is so stingy with any info on how their stuff works!
        thank goodness their are blogs like this one or, i for one, on a regular basis, would be groping around in the dark trying to figure out ngmocos logic !
        have a great sunny day yall

      • Pjsplantation/V3gasvamp1
        May 29, 2011 @ 16:04:15

        Hi confused one…. Thx for the link to the goals site…big help…anyway I have gotten beyond the July crops and it unlocked King of Beasts which has build a dragons lair…that unlocks Midday snack which is build the cheese factory and harvest some carrots and strawberries.. Didn’t see those on the spreadsheet yet. Just FYI for anyone wanting to store ahead of time.

      • pjsplantation/v3gasvamp1
        May 30, 2011 @ 00:07:45

        wow I didnt realize that there were soo many and I was only looking at the A-E list or something…sorry bout the last useless post.

      • Rooothio
        Oct 25, 2011 @ 03:53:25

        I’m new. Can you tell me how I go about the “collect an order” goals?

      • Totalthinker
        Oct 25, 2011 @ 19:25:23

        Place an order at the building in another player’s kinddom. When they deliver the order you will get credit.

  11. Carrie
    May 28, 2011 @ 01:34:38

    I’m still not sure how I feel about the goals. I think some are more fun than others, but buying the pricier items again is not. My only question now is what is the limit on outgoing and incoming orders? As of right now, I only have 2 orders in my kingdom, but it shows up as not being “open.”

    Reply

    • Totalthinker
      May 28, 2011 @ 08:34:42

      The orders limit includes orders to your kingdom (incoming) as well as outgoing and it’s around 30 depending on how busy you are. Some of the more popular kingdoms get a few more orders because several players jump in as soon as a couple of shops open up and it takes the server a few minutes to catch up. So if you have 28 orders out only two people can order in.

      Once you start building solid friendships you want to start cutting back on outgoing orders to leave room for incoming.

      If you don’t have a lot of orders out and your kingdom is still closed, there’s a problem with the server and you need to contact support@ngmoco.com.

      Reply

      • confuzed1
        May 29, 2011 @ 01:11:39

        The current limit is 35 combined incoming and outgoing orders, plus three more for outgoing orders only, for a total of 38 possible orders.

        Man, I feel like a whore littering your blog with my comments… Sorry about that! 😮

  12. John
    May 28, 2011 @ 07:25:43

    Phillip,

    Thank you.

    For this amazing Blog.

    -John

    Reply

  13. Superknight98
    May 28, 2011 @ 19:08:51

    I just purchased the 800 mojo package and bought a ton of sapphire groves in my NW realm. I figured that instead of using mojo and buying buildings I can just get the coins from the sapphire grove. Also, the new version for me cuts down on crashing, but it lags like crazy. Ngmoco:) is having glitches in their system, like making all vintage chateuas disappear and appear like Posiedon. I contacted them and they said it was Zeus. They probably need glasses, and they can definitely afford them with all the money they are extracting from us.

    Reply

  14. Moontown
    May 29, 2011 @ 04:22:36

    I went crazy and started pulling everything out of my kingdoms and putting them in storage, if it was on a goal. That was helpful when that goal popped up. I didnt want to buy old stuff again. The biggest problem is when you have to collect idle income on something, like the inventers stuido. Mine never set empty. I guess this is when you learn to slide one behind things so its not easily found. 🙂 The kracken will be really hard. But all and all I think the goals are fun. Something new and different.

    Reply

  15. Superknight98
    May 30, 2011 @ 12:57:14

    Plz visit my east realm, I need people ordering from me.

    Reply

  16. pjsplantation/v3gasvamp1
    May 30, 2011 @ 18:43:32

    Hi Hi its me again,
    I just completed Midday snack and ran into tournament of skill, which requires building an archery range, not only is it pretty worthless as a shop, the only way to get it is by mojo. I dont mind the goals they are kinda fun and a challenge. I dont like having to use mojo to complete them…Its the same with 21 gun salute and the navy ships, either mojo to buy it or mojo to bypass and move on…Really Ngmoco this is low… and greedy…..looks like Im stuck for a bit…..refuse to use mojo for goals…..

    Reply

    • pjsplantation/v3gasvamp1
      May 30, 2011 @ 19:02:42

      Quick question about goals, if you have 2 goals and they require the same build item, if you build one do you get credit on both goals?

      Reply

    • confuzed1
      May 31, 2011 @ 21:38:46

      An update is on the way that will change the goals so that discontinued items, mojo-only items, and IAP items will no longer be required.

      Reply

  17. chezmah
    May 31, 2011 @ 09:20:24

    this goal thing is bery confuzing 2 me !!!!
    so if anyone can give me some advice it would be much appreciated !
    when exactly should i put my items in inventory and when should i take them out to be able to use them 4 a goal.
    i refuse to buy stuff i already have and certainly dont need more of to complete a goal and am certainly not going to buy mojo to reach a goal !!!!!
    i am curious however to fulfill a goal or two to see if its worth spending time and energy on them.
    also, what do you mean by hiding ?
    i have not yet figured out how to stack stuff and am curious .. so would love any info on how to do so !
    thanks in advance for any help !

    Reply

    • confuzed1
      May 31, 2011 @ 21:54:48

      Look up your active goals on this chart:

      https://spreadsheets0.google.com/spreadsheet/lv?hl=en_US&key=tOc31sdx8fvN-2lAISCSamQ&hl=en_US&f=true&gid=0

      Look toward the right to see what other goal may be triggered upon it’s completion.

      Any items that are needed to complete a goal can be taken from inventory, but they must be in inventory before triggering the goal.

      So look at the goal requirements for the next goal, before finishing your current one, and inventory those items before it’s triggered.

      As far as hiding things, it helps to put them in a side realm.

      Also, items can be placed behind other items that are bigger than them without stacking.

      However, stacking works best. Search for “We Rule Stacking” on You Tube, and watch the videos to learn how it’s done.

      Reply

  18. chezmah
    May 31, 2011 @ 09:22:26

    hi moontown !
    have written in your blog but have seen no other comments… are you still using it ?
    keep me posted ! thanks …chezmah

    Reply

    • Moontown
      Jun 01, 2011 @ 06:55:29

      Hi chez, I was so busy with thw 10 days it took for the funeral and as soon as I got back I started into inventory phase at work that will keep me busy for 10 more days. Thanks for thinking of me. I used the utube video on stacking and supergroves. Thats how I learned. And for me if it was a build on the list they provided I put it in storage. when the new queat came up I pulled it right back out. It works well.

      Reply

  19. chezmah
    Jun 02, 2011 @ 00:16:01

    thanks moontown and confuzed for all your good advice. when i look at the excell spread sheet its quite daunting….. it makes me feel as if its the doorway to an even deeper adiction !!!! hmmmm should i even start???
    before persuing goals, i think i’ll first practice my hand at staking !!

    Reply

  20. pjsplantation/v3gasvamp1
    Jun 04, 2011 @ 02:55:13

    Hi all, hey looking at the goal sheet and inventories I have noticed that some of the smaller items seem like they may depend on how many realms you have opened..also the new update as Confuzed one said, seems to have elimated the mojo items.. and no longer available items..you just have to place order from your social network and take delivery.. Happy ruling!!!

    Reply

  21. Pjsplantation/V3gasvamp1
    Jun 05, 2011 @ 14:58:47

    good morning fellow rulers. I just collected from the doped up cat on the shrooms and it opened a new quest called red or blue pill….Is this the only way to access the quest?

    Reply

  22. Theresa Kruedelbach
    Jul 04, 2011 @ 01:12:12

    Hi I’m looking for that link of all the goals can someone give it to me

    Reply

  23. dumba$$
    Oct 25, 2011 @ 18:27:37

    How do you place an order?

    Reply

    • Totalthinker
      Oct 25, 2011 @ 19:26:28

      If the shop has an open sign, click on the shop. The dialogue will tell you what you will receive in return. Just click the place order button.

      Reply

  24. dumba$$
    Oct 26, 2011 @ 15:06:17

    How about a friendly order? I am new and trying to finish some early goals. I have to place some friendly orders to shops or locations I can’t find. How do I find shops or a grave yard or different types of Castles to finish goals? I spent a bunch of time and can’t find any of the items I need to place “friendly” orders at.

    Reply

  25. Elizabeth (i.e. eliza4222 on plus+)
    Oct 26, 2011 @ 17:39:15

    That can be tough, but if you post on the mojo forum you can usually find what you need, or look through the history for some particularly elusive items people always ask for.

    http://www.serifwebresources.com/phpBB2/viewforum.php?f=2&forumid=339260

    Personally, I have just about everything needed for goals in my kingdom…you can come to eliza4222 and find everything in my main and north realms (north is my granny’s attic).

    Reply

    • Elizabeth (i.e. eliza4222 on plus+)
      Oct 26, 2011 @ 17:40:16

      I have a few other things scattered through the other realms – like the gladiator’s arenas are in SE…

      Reply

  26. dumba$$
    Oct 26, 2011 @ 19:02:26

    I think there must be some difference between a friendly order and what I have done. I found some stables and placed some orders but nothing has been counted towards my goal. And also what is the deal with when you place an order at a shop then you can’t place any more orders in that realm. how long before you can place another order in that realm?

    Reply

    • Elizabeth (i.e. eliza4222 on plus+)
      Oct 26, 2011 @ 19:10:59

      It’s not just placing the order, it’s getting the results back. Once you get the returned, completed order it will count on your goals.

      You can only have one order in someone’s kingdom at a time – you have to wait for it to complete and be returned to you or for it to expire (if the kingdom owner doesn’t acknowledge it).

      Also, in case you don’t know, there is an order limit. You can only have a combined 50 incoming and outgoing orders at a time.

      Does that make sense? You’ll get the goals done. I got the entire set done in just a couple of months, so be patient! It will happen!

      Reply

  27. dumba$$
    Oct 26, 2011 @ 20:31:57

    Oh that makes more sense. The game doesn’t explain that as far as I can tell.

    So when I place the order and it counts off and says it is done it is really just beginning. Then the owner of that realm has to complete it. Do I need to go back to get it or does it show up for me when they complete it?

    Also I noticed people who are really high have no open shops. Only people near my level have shops I can buy from. Is that a level thing or do the advanced users shut down their shops?

    Reply

    • Elizabeth (i.e. eliza4222 on plus+)
      Oct 26, 2011 @ 20:54:36

      You don’t go back. What will happen is you will get a pop up that says such and such thing was delivered…then it will count to goals.

      The no open shop thing just means they have maxed out on the 50 order limit. It’s not level based, but people at higher levels tend to have more neighbors so their slots fill up faster. People at lower levels are still working on getting their network of neighbors going, so they haven’t maxed out the order limit.

      Reply

  28. dumba$$
    Oct 26, 2011 @ 21:25:21

    So it is better to try and work with people in the middle who have good shops but also still some room right?

    Reply

    • Elizabeth (i.e. eliza4222 on plus+)
      Oct 26, 2011 @ 21:38:22

      I think so, that way you can build up a network of people who you order from and who order from you…when I go place orders I know who are the folks who order from me a lot, so I order from them if they are open.

      It doesn’t hurt to follow higher level players, you can get lucky sometimes and find a good high level item, but to depend on them for the goals and normal play can be tough.

      Reply

    • Elizabeth (i.e. eliza4222 on plus+)
      Oct 26, 2011 @ 21:40:45

      I just hit level 70 a day or so ago, and I always have slots open.

      And I’ll give you a hint – I have Thunderbird Lairs – some of the best returns in the whole game – in all but my North realm….no one really knows about them yet, so you can order from one of those if you want! The ones in my main realm are always full…but often people don’t circle an entire kingdom.

      It’s not part of any goal, but it’s great returns.

      Reply

  29. dumba$$
    Oct 26, 2011 @ 23:14:28

    alright I will go right now to try and grab something from you. my game handle is dorkness691

    Reply

  30. Pjsplantation/V3gasvamp1
    Oct 29, 2011 @ 15:51:22

    Hi add me dumba$$ Pjsplantation I have all the old items and newer. The graveyards are in my 2nd kingdom (north) Halloween site. Enjoi the game and I always order back thru either Pjsplantation or v3gasvamp1 or 2. Happy ruling!!!

    Reply

  31. dumba$$
    Oct 29, 2011 @ 21:22:48

    unfortunately I have a droid phone not an Iphone…I think the one I have is better than an iPhone for most things but none of the games by these people are working correctly and I have to reboot my phone constantly. Never happened on any other software but all the games by Mobage cause problems on my phone. Every time i install a new one there is a warning that comes up that says it has not been tested on my system and boy can I tell. It is real hard to do things because it does not respond to the touch input correctly or all the time. Only Mobage games. I am about to delete Zombie farm it is sooooo bad.

    Reply

  32. april
    Nov 07, 2011 @ 13:16:53

    I’m looking for friends april19723198 please add

    Reply

Leave a Reply

