Goblin infestation. Call Orkin now.

ngmoco:) unleashed a goblin infestation this week. At first people were hoping the goblins signaled more Harry Potter goods at the end of the week, but instead we got even more goblins. Not civilized banker goblins from Harry Potter but nasty rural goblins with no couth or manners. Goblin butchers, goblin bakers, goblin rangers, ordinary goblins and even a goblin king.

This infestation is part of a new trend in We Rule game development, which is to flood the landscape with new (and usually temporary) items that are gone within a week or two. Some players find this exciting, but others are beginning to feel overwhelmed, at least from what I read in the comments.

I filled a quarter of a kingdom with this week’s goblin items and I still haven’t scored the regular goblin swamp. My advice? Wait until you’re L50 to buy everything they release, but focus on a few key items now. A lot of it will recycle as gifts anyway.

The last week of July saw the introduction of five new goblin shops, two goblin swamps, goblin barricades two residences and a variety of gifts including a goblin watch tower which I spent quite a few mojo boosting to track down only to have it pop up as a regular gift. I’m assuming the small goblin swamp won’t need boosting either.

This means there will probably be gold goblin gifts in a week or two.

A year ago they were adding two buildings a week; now they’re up to ten. Ten different items in one week for more than 100 mojo (not including boosts) or 200000c.

I might add that I’ve noticed another new trend. ngmoco:) doesn’t always release gifts on the same day they’re announced. So you might blow 150 mojo, as one poster did, get dozens of one gift and never get the gift you want. (Don’t laugh, I bet a lot of you have done it and were too embarrassed to admit it).

Daily rewards

We’re also getting daily rewards now, which are nice. I don’t know if you earn more rewards for higher levels or not, but the daily rewards most of us want are free mojo.

How about 200 free mojo for every 2000 mojo purchased? Kind of like cashing in for a free coffee after you buy five?

Book coming

After next week’s post I’ll be taking my summer break to work on pulling together and updating the best posts and releasing the Grimoire on iBooks. I don’t have a release date set because I’m still deciding which vendor to use, but I will be releasing an ePub version for $5.

Sales on the book will be used to recoup the mojo I spend to install, grow and test buildings so I can have the numbers posted by the end of the day. Back in the days when I only needed to run the numbers on two or three buildings a week, it wasn’t a problem, but I now blow through a hundred mojo or more a week just getting the numbers.

It will be fun, contain some new, non-essential material and will probably save more than it’s worth in mojo.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Emiluiza
    Aug 02, 2011 @ 02:24:14

    …..I will buy the ebook……..thank you again…..!

    Reply

  2. Moontown
    Aug 02, 2011 @ 04:06:16

    When I boost gifts, I only boost 2 or 3 a day, and then wait a day to boost again. I have had great luck with that. But I also have a very limited mojo budget and that works for me. Keep us posted about the ebook. Its worth the $5 donation just to keep you posting. I would love to have others pay for my mojo but I dont want to do the work for it, so you deserve it. So good luck.

    Reply

  3. Jiji808
    Aug 03, 2011 @ 01:17:27

    Put me down for a copy!!

    Also folks, no need to take the survey that claims will make We Rule better. It’s rubbish. Seriously. One question even asked if I was planning to purchase a vehicle soon and what type.

    Reply

  4. Ravenpuff
    Aug 03, 2011 @ 03:42:19

    I’m getting quite tired of the multitude of buildings come out each week. At one time I was close to having one of each building, but then they went into theme overdrive, and not knowing that this temporary item habit would become more common place, I kissed out on some pirate and sultan items not knowing they’d be gone quickly. It also didn’t help that I went away to a conference only to find things evaporated from the list.

    I noticed that the amount of mojo I buy now to get all the objects I haven’t saved up for in time before they yank buildings. Also, Having to boost to get gifts before they’re gone is getting annoying and expensive as well.

    They need a recession busting week. All buildings using mojo, half mojo price.

    Reply

  5. pjsplantation/v3gasvamp1
    Aug 04, 2011 @ 20:26:41

    I agree, Im working on the goals and i finally broke down spent 10 mojo to avoid having to use 30 to but a mask shop only to progress one and find now that I need to spend 35 mojo for a trojan horse or 20 mojo to bypass spending 35…. Also they rephased the terms so if you have already mojo items only you can use them, but if not to get thru the goals you have to use more mojo…I think it truely is extortion on ngmoco part…Or i guess I could just forgo the goals, but I think I am almost finished… then what????

    Reply

  6. pjsplantation/v3gasvamp1
    Aug 04, 2011 @ 20:30:32

    Oh yeah, is it me or did the daily rewards disappear already..Hmmm one week maybe it lasted..

    Reply

  7. chezmah
    Aug 05, 2011 @ 11:20:57

    i agree with u pj, the goal system is a form of extortion. i personally completely ignore them as i dont wannabe forced to purchase things i dont want or like.

    i’m really disapointed wit the elven stuff ( as i was with morgana’ place).
    i LOVE elves and was hoping they would eventually pass thru WR ; but the design of the buildings proposed is a far cry from what i would have expected. they TOTALLY lack fantasy and elvishness. the look like modern day apartments painted green and have nothing in common with the first elven tree…. it seems like ngmoco is doing a rush job to produce content to satisfy compulsive shoppers !
    sad …
    good day 2all

    Reply

  8. Pjsplantation/V3gasvamp1
    Aug 05, 2011 @ 14:13:45

    Oops spoke too soon. My daily reward came in after 11pm pdt.
    Hi Chez.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

