Last Update: Crimson Dragon Unlocked

I managed to unlock the crimson dragon this evening. It will be the most valuable item in your kingdom on an hourly return basis (240cp per hour for customers, 317 for vendors). This is gratifying if only because ngmoco:) now accepts hourly return as the standard for value (a point disputed by many).

I say this because it is only the second most valuable shop for total points behind the minotaur’s labyrinth (7250 and 9525).

The crimson dragon’s lair has the highest hourly return of any shop to date. Whether or not it’s worth the effort (and expense) is entirely up to you.

I also confirmed that you can catch the minor dragons with a free net without using mojo (for those of you who still need to catch one).

The real question is whether or not you want to pursue the quest. I would say “yes” if you don’t mind spending 120 mojo for:

  • Something no one else will be able to have after Thursday—at least until ngmoco:) changes their minds and introduces it as a boosted gift (which they may well do).
  • One shop which will produce a return slightly higher than the minotaur.

If you’re at a lower level and you don’t mind blowing twenty dollars for a crimson dragon, I might say to do it. If you can attract customers. But if you can (or soon will be able to) score the minotaur’s labyrinth you might prefer to buy them with coins.

See you in a couple of weeks. Unless they launch a wizard hunt Thursday.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lycopodium
    Aug 30, 2011 @ 15:22:29

    You’re right. I also thought I had to plant, ripen with mojo and harvest (so I spent a fair amount of mojo to get to the crimson dragon).
    Having attained that I stopped planting altogether and I am still seeing dragons fly all around my screen.
    So, you should be able to get both dragon lairs without spending any mojo. I wish I would have figured that out before!

    Reply

  2. Ultramom
    Aug 31, 2011 @ 01:24:46

    Hi, I caught 5 dragons using free nets and I don’t have enough mojo to buy the last one. Is it possible to catch dragons from other players realm? Thanks

    Reply

  3. ravenpuff
    Aug 31, 2011 @ 03:47:07

    I’m sick of this gaming crashing 4 out of 5 times you catch a dragon and want to share. And I only use mojo to catch the jeweled dragons. It took several days before I saw the first crystal dragon in my kingdom, my daughter’s or my son’s kingdom. So if you’re going to use any mojo, use the ten mojo to catch a crystal dragon. Rudy dragons happen often enough that you probably can catch one without using mojo, but I’ve only seen a couple emerald dragons.

    Reply

  4. jiji808
    Aug 31, 2011 @ 06:43:47

    Well friends, my time has come. I am not going to play We Rule anymore. I’ve been playing since the beginning and I’ve had fun playing with all of you!! Hope you all continue to enjoy the good stuff about the game and try to ignore the rest.
    -Aloha `oe

    P.S. I might come back if the harvest orb is ever free. 😉

    Reply

  5. Anonymous
    Sep 01, 2011 @ 05:24:41

    Joe posted whats to come in 1.61 over at mojo farm.

    Reply

  6. rob88249
    Sep 02, 2011 @ 12:29:46

    Since this dragon update I cannot get onto we rule on my iPad only the iPhone.
    As soon as welcome screen comes it crashes why does every major upgrade make it harder to play. Anyone have any ideas on what might be wrong??

    I have tried the old delete an install trick still no love

    Reply

  7. Anonymous
    Sep 02, 2011 @ 17:52:13

    What’s to come in We Rule 1.61

    -Rendering images in 16-bit color instead of 32-bit color. This will use half of the texture memory, but not cause discernable degradation of quality. Translation: Everything will look just about the same as it does today. On player accounts that were crashing frequently on iPad 1 using 1.6, these same accounts played with significantly fewer issues on 1.61.

    -The switch to 16-bit color also may help players on earlier generation devices load their Kingdoms again, if they have a bit of patience. However, we still aren’t officially supporting these devices.

    -Clearing cached textures when switching realms or visiting another Kingdom. Previously we had stored these textures in order to make loading realms faster. However, the time it saves (a few seconds on newer generation devices) is not worth the trade off in memory usage.

    -Memory issue fixes specifically related to the new events framework.

    Additionally, we know you want more room to rule over, so…

    -We’re introducing an entirely new Kingdom that you can control, design, and decorate from the Realms tab

    -The Realms/News tabs will be moved to the side of the screen to make room for iOS 5 notifications swiping

    Reply

  8. Pjsplantation/V3gasvamp1
    Sep 04, 2011 @ 14:09:39

    Thanks anon for the update, will the new graphic change also help prevent crashes when visiting “friends” kingdoms that have been filled with items ie burblegort, and a couple others. I love their kingdoms, but they delay or crash when loading.

    Reply

  9. Anonymous
    Sep 06, 2011 @ 04:18:43

    Reply

Leave a Reply

