Flutterfly event screeching to a halt?

If you find yourself growing increasingly frustrated with the new flutterflies event you aren’t alone. Not only have I not seen an opal flutterfly since I caught one for 10m only to have the game ignore the catch, I haven’t seen any of the rare flutterflies. In fact I haven’t seen many flutterflies at all.

I was told several times that I couldn’t catch any flutterflies and to come back later. Then I received four different notifications that new flutterflies had been released in my kingdom and that I should log in an receive 10 free mojo. I didn’t get any mojo and I’ve only seen three or four flutterflies since the problems began.

Nor has this improved game stability.

Please, ngmoco:), please come up with something else next time.

17 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Marlin35
    Sep 13, 2011 @ 00:57:01

    I can’t even get the game to open. I’ve done everything except reinstall. Maybe I’ll try again tomorrow and see if it will work then. Yes, very frustrating indeed. I caught lots of garnet and finally got the first 3. Now I mostly get garnet and miss most with free nets. Now I can’t even open the game. At least by what you’ve said, it’s not just me.

    Reply

  2. larkybird
    Sep 13, 2011 @ 00:58:32

    I am experiencing exactly what you described. I am about to say good bye to this event. I wonder if all the rest will have the same track record?

    Reply

  3. chezmah
    Sep 13, 2011 @ 08:25:40

    same here…. crash, crash, crash !!!!
    plenty of garnets flutter by… some blue and green and even a rarer yellow, but these are rarely caught and then crash again and poof, magic… they disapear !
    i think the worse is the crashing. Yesterday spent 3 hours for the process of harvesting and ordering when it usually tkes 15 -20 mins….. reloading constantly after every move is pushing me to the brink…. maybe that ‘s the goal of this game : seeing how far it can push you before you just give up!
    actually i’m starting to think that if i just give up and dump the game, then and only then, i’ll be a winner !
    the best was…. i finally got the blue building after the first 3 fluttersnipes, and i could not place it in my realm …. wouldn’t stay !

    Reply

  4. chezmah
    Sep 13, 2011 @ 10:25:05

    when i tried to post the following on the ngmoco site i was informed that it had to be reviewed by a moderator before being posted !
    ok, its long but it does show what we are dealing with :
    so here is my letter to ngmoco (at least i know their moderator is apte to “review” it !!!!

    fyi 
    hereafter communication with ngmoco support:

    On 13 sept. 2011, at 01:11, Lizzy Goldstein wrote :

    Hi,

    My name is Lizzy and I’m more than happy to assist you. We are aware that some iPad 1 players are experiencing more memory-related crashing issues. The latest update has made the game too memory intensive for that device. Our engineers are working on a fix and hope to have it ready in the next couple of weeks. In the meantime, uninstalling and reinstalling We Rule may improve performance.

    -Lizzy
    ngmoco:) Player Relationships

    thanks lizzy for your rapid response.
    i have written several times to tech support since august 25th and besides being asked to fill out information forms, this is the  first honest response i have gotten (three weeks waiting!!!!!)
    so i do thank you for giving me the info needed to consider hanging in for a fix (another several weeks of waiting !) 
    but in the meantime, could you please  pass my message on to ngmoco :

    i question the strategy of producing an update that makes the game too memory intensive for the devices used to operate the said game !!!???!!!
    i question why this was not analyzed before implementing changes and why the solutions were not found before launching new content ????!!!????
    i furthermore question why new, unsupported, untested content is consistently added by ngmoco when they must be aware of the maximultitude of complaints on the crashing of the game for many, many, many months…. ngmoco should read the blogs, technical complaints that the players invest time and effort to communicate to you !
    the present situation is creating a horrifically frustrating ambiance for the faithful customers….. 
    is the objective to get everyone to throw out their ipad 1 and run out and buy an ipad 2 to keep up with a game ????
    if so, and if people are stupid enough to follow that course, you’ll probably continue the strategy and players will have to run out and get yet the latest version ipad to continue to play !!!!!
    the game is (excuse me, WAS) a great game, but either “we players” should look forward to very poor planning on the part of ngmoco or that we are being taken for a bunch of mindless morons that will accept deciept and manipulation just to “play the game”

    which is it ngmoco ???
    please respond !!!

    hi brandi
    the info was in my first and second mails which date back to the 26 th of august ….here it is again !!!!

    ……

    On 12 sept. 2011, at 19:39, Brandi Balentine wrote:

    Hey there,

    My name is Brandi and I am more than happy to assist you. Which type of device are you using?

    -Brandi
    ngmoco:) Player Relationships

    Reference ID: ref:00DCQGAq.500CFpwhh:ref

    ———-
    Your last response(s):

    MY USER NAME IS CHEZMAH … this information has already been given to you in my original message.
    i wrote back to you regarding this issue and included ALL the information requested .i was then told to repeat the process by sending the info via your support form which i did.i have been waiting for a response ever since….now, with the arrival of the flutterfly quest, the game is crashing every time i do anything !!!!

    furthermore, i HAVE captured a blue and a jade butterfly and they did not register on my goals …..great !!!!
    I CAN NOT UNDERSTAND WHY NGMOCO CANT FIX THE CRASHING !!!!!i seems to happen even more often when using the social map.i have also written to plus plus and no response there either.
    and yes i have rebooted, uninstalled and reinstalled several times….i know i am not the only person with these issues !
    please get back to me asap.no sense in putting a time limit for goals when the custommer cant play due to the constant crashing. please here us when we ask ngmoco to fix the problems before adding new content. as not being able to play just frustrates us which is hardly the objective of game playing !!!!
    thanks for responding rapidly i,ve been waiting for 11 days for a response from you !!!!
    Begin forwarded message:

    On 29 août 2011, at 11:40, Plus+ Support wrote:

    Hello,
    We’ve received your email, and created the following Case for you #00017834.  
    We’re able to help you the fastest if you’ve been sure to include your gamername (the name you log in with) in your note.  Please see your original message below and respond to this message if you forgot to include your gamername.
    A member of our Player Relationships team will strive to respond within 24 hours.  Your patience is greatly appreciated. 
    -The ngmoco:) Player Relationships Teamhttp://support.ngmoco.com
    Reference ID: ref:00DCQGAq.500CFpwhh:ref
    ———-
    Your original response:

    Reply

  5. Artimistic (@artimistic)
    Sep 13, 2011 @ 11:28:54

    I’ve had the first three flutterflies lots of times, but not much else really 😦 i think I’ll give up on that really, but I’m still plodding through the Goals – I have plenty to do. I put the 10 free mojo to good use, paying in part to do the Trojan Horse goal haha.

    Reply

  6. pjsplantation/v3gasvamp1
    Sep 13, 2011 @ 13:19:03

    Whew I understand the crashing thing with limited time to squeeze in a harvest or to pop in to fill an order it is soo frustrating to have to reload wait and wait some more for the event cover to disappear and maybe do a couple things then the game lags and like magic back to the app icon…As far as the flutterlies, I havent even seen but two the citrines ** ones, and all the non rare original ones..

    Reply

  7. rkhouse
    Sep 13, 2011 @ 14:46:07

    I play on an iPod 3rd gen with 64gb of memory and have not had these problems. No crashing and no missing flutterflies. But I don’t think I got any free mojo. I completed the first goal without mojo and received the Azure Temple. I have also caught the garnet, amethyst, jade and citrine flutterflies without mojo. I doubt that I will be able to work on the Grand Rosy Temple, so I figure I have 7 days left to try and catch the topaz and opal flutterflies to receive the Grand Azure Temple. I will let you know if I succeed.

    Reply

  8. safetypants
    Sep 13, 2011 @ 14:51:19

    I officially quit the entire game a few weeks ago. I made it up to #360 in the top players list (XP) and after accidentally deleting the reward for the Dragon event (I forgot what it was called) I nearly threw my iPad through the wall. That was when I decided ngmoco can shove the game up their collective asses and I will live a less frustrating life.

    Reply

  9. Lesley
    Sep 14, 2011 @ 02:05:40

    Hi, I haven’t received any mojo but have completed all 3 goals and have my 3 temples!! But I have another problem and it seems as if the game has a second layer (as if its in a time warp). I harvest my farms (Mushrooms) and replace with blackberries only to have dead icons over my farms only 15 mins later but the harvest (blackberries) that i replaced the original mushrooms with are underneath the dead harvest and if i click on the blackberry farms they show the correct time to finish- my coin amount is affected too.

    Ngmoco rarely respond to any queries/complains in fact I have had 1 response from Brandi but nothing since. Getting peeved…..

    Reply

  10. chezmah
    Sep 14, 2011 @ 09:59:38

    rkhouse bravo !!!! like tt, i am happy 4 u that you are enjoying.
    question is, do we all have to run out and buy the latest ipad to play ?
    is it no longer a question of how much mojo one can afford but how often you must buy the latest version of the device so as to keep playing with enjoyment ???

    Reply

  11. Larkybird
    Sep 14, 2011 @ 12:50:12

    I have a nice iPhone and iPad. Grand son has16 gb 3rd generation. WE all crash but he worse! I probably will refuse next event and wish I knew how to exterminate the “flies” in my kingdom NOW! Play used to be fun.

    Reply

  12. rkhouse
    Sep 14, 2011 @ 14:22:53

    I don’t have the latest version of anything. I’m using an iPod Touch 3rd gen not an iPad. I guess I forgot to put the word Touch in my first post. I just can’t justify buying the newest version when I spent $300 on the old version just 6 months before the new version came out! I guess I am lucky I’m not crashing. I posted my first post because it seemed that it was those that had the new iPads that were having the issues. I do enjoy the game. So far, I have resisted spending any money on the game and hope to keep that up. I caught the Topaz Flutterfly with the free net yesterday. Maybe with 6 days left, I can catch the opal one!

    Reply

  13. chezmah
    Sep 14, 2011 @ 16:50:38

    hi rk, no sorry, its my error ! i’m just VERY ignorant in all technical stuff and thought your device was the latest thing cause, for someone as uneducated as myself in these matters, i figured with the fancy name of 3rd generation, it meant it was the latest item …. and therefore not as prone to crashing as my ipad (which is bearly one year old) certainly did not mean to judge or offend. i’m just trying to undersand the logic in all these crashes !!!!! they are driving me soooooo crazy !
    i spend 0 for mojo (except in the way begining and even then, i was very conservative) and yes, i too do enjoy the game at least the building of my realm and the ordering etc. but i do not enjoy spending most of my time lately reloading the game constantly and am very frustrated by it.
    as for the butterflies well, i just catch what i can but refuse to get myself caught up in the net of having to get them all. my attitude is, if i get them all, thats cool…. if i dont, no biggy, life goes on and i,ll survive. guess i just dont have avery competitive nature !
    i hope you get them all and keep enjoying !
    chezmah

    Reply

    • pjsplantation/v3gasvamp1
      Sep 14, 2011 @ 22:51:17

      Hi Chez!!
      Ive been sending you what flutters i can catch whenever I am lucky enough to see and catch them..I used 60 mojo for the Dragon event our of wanting to “catch them all” as Ash would say..Ive been holding back on this event with the mojo..finally caught the citrine one, but havent seen but 1 tangerine for the second level… Am crashing alll the time, so am sorry to all for the lack of orders.. I cant believe ngmoco cant fix this craching problem even my lower acct with little to nothing in the realms is crashing too… Good luck and keep me posted…. Au Revoir a bientot

      Reply

  14. chezmah
    Sep 15, 2011 @ 06:18:10

    hi pj, its great to hear from you !!!! visit you whenever i can but these days i’m lucky if i get to place an order every hour ! been at it for 30 min now and…. i’ve crashed about 7 times…. man, whats wrong with me…. why do i keep at it ????? i do love the game and only wish it worked ! it is mind boggling that ngmojo cant get their act together !
    i’m not getting any new butterflies since yesterday….. oh well. i’m not going to let that frustrate me too.
    i do love visiting my “friends” kingdoms and ordering… so i keep at it.
    beautiful morning here and in a few i’m off to going sailing with some buddies ! gonna come back all tan and windblown !
    à bientôt and have a great day. may the great good genie protect you from the nasty old crashing spells !
    chezmah

    Reply

    • pjsplantation/v3gasvamp1
      Sep 15, 2011 @ 22:25:37

      4:30 am on the west coast, couldnt sleep decided to check for some FFs on my 2nd acct…could not even get past the opening page of game, decided to sleep instead…
      broke down and used 10 mojo to catch that sneaky amber FF today after 5 missed attempts… I figure I have the mojo and am maxxed so far on levels, what else can I use it for…I am a hopeless addict lol
      Enjoy the sailing trip and wear sunscreen…Heading to Disneyland this weekend..woo hoo
      Happy Ruling and may you expirience fewer crashes….ttfn : )

      Reply

Leave a Reply

