Early Edition: Sneak release and promised update

I don’t know how many players noticed it, but ngmoco:) actually released a couple of major items with no announcement last night. I have no idea why. I simply noticed the “new content” bar and decided to check (even though quite often the new content is nothing). At the bottom of the featured items I found the Thunderbird Lair. On a whim I checked the castles and found the new azure fortress.

The thunderbird is quite electric. Similar to the phoenix he collapses for a while and then revives to take flight. He’s also a very valuable creature, the first to top five figures in combined points.

As I predicted a couple of weeks ago, the crimson dragon lair wouldn’t be the second most valuable item in player kingdoms for long. The thunderbird’s release topples all other building for return, by almost 6000cp. It also breaks the million coin price barrier, clocking in at 1,250,000c (60m).

I’d been saving up my coins for a while because I know that ngmoco:) releases a blockbuster item every three months or so, but this almost doubles previous returns. It also means even more expensive buildings in the future, but as return values rise with them they should be more affordable. More experienced players may remember the paltry 4c return every four hours for the cottages at the beginning of the game. Last I checked they were 10c every 5 minutes.

The azure fortress is even more expensive at a million and a half coins. It’s incredibly large, hiding a number of groves and fields.

The azure fortress is absolutely enormous. It’s a deeper shade of blue than earlier fortresses, although I think the dark castle was the most attractive so far. The emerald and orange fortresses were fairly pretty too.

Click to see larger image

Save those coins

ngmoco:) has announced the pending release of version 1.6, which apparently will include a new kingdom with five new realms. So start saving coins to fill those new realms (and buy them). They also promise a lot more stability.

Developers are reducing the bit depth of the graphics which will make them a lot less processor intensive. If you don’t understand, the number of bits in an image drastically increase the processing power required to render them. Since the game isn’t photorealistic the reduction in pixel depth should’t hurt the look of the game at all. In fact, they could probably do it with eight bits and still get decent results.

Finally, ngmoco:) says they will be removing the gift cart during future events, so this also means we will see more flutterflies, dragons and their offspring in the future.

It’s been a busy week so we’ll count this as Monday’s post. Hopefully the game will get more exciting and a lot less aggravating.

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ravenpuff
    Sep 18, 2011 @ 04:28:28

    That’s all swell and good, but are all these “improvements and upgrades” going to cause it to crash even more? I can barely stomach to check my kingdom once a day, because I have it crash at least ten times before it will stop crashing. Then when I try and do any harvesting or fulfilling orders, it crashes.

    After a reboot and more praying, it crashes several more times.

    ngmoco is in danger of loosing players unless they fix this buggy software and all this crash issues. They are darn near close to loosing me.

    Reply

  2. Moontown
    Sep 19, 2011 @ 03:29:01

    I was very lucky and had no problems or crashes. I finished my flutterflies quick. I noticed the upgrade and had a stash saved up so I was able to buy several thunderbird lairs, but I dont like the neon thunderbird, its very annoying.

    Reply

  3. chezmah
    Sep 19, 2011 @ 09:09:26

    hi moontown ! lucky you and congrats for the sucess in flyfetching !
    this has been horrible for me as the crashes continue, not just a few but MANY of my favorite kingdoms are totally unaccessible. The minute i try to open them the game crashes ….. SOOOOO annoying, but i aint givin up!!! just doing the best i can. as for flutterflies, last day and i keep getting the same old, same old (only 2 every four hours, have been able to catch a few but not nearly enough…. and thats constantly crashing tooo !!!! oh well. hanging in for better days ! i’m just praying that when the event ends i’ll be able to order normally again !!!!
    sorry to all those who i seem to be ignoring on return orders but cant say i havent tried to visit, just cant do !
    bisous !
    chezmah

    Reply

  4. Elizabeth (i.e. eliza4222 on plus+)
    Sep 19, 2011 @ 16:00:10

    I am at the new level 66, almost 67, and I’m still at the dark, squat castle…I don’t like those really tall castles so I knew I was going to stop when I got to the dark castle.

    Do you know how exactly the new realms will work? I’m in desperate need of space!

    Reply

    • pjsplantation/v3gasvamp1
      Sep 24, 2011 @ 14:19:31

      Hi
      were you able to figure out the new realms? You have to press the tab on the left and swipe right to left to expose the new realms…

      Reply

  5. Pjsplantation/V3gasvamp1
    Sep 20, 2011 @ 16:17:27

    Happy Tuesday all… I was able to get thru the 3 levels with mojo on my flutters, but it took to the very last day to even see my final two FF…my lowest kingdom was able to complete the 2nd level without any mojo, but had no time left to even attempt the 3rd. Thought I was at max level and wow three days later 5 more levels yikes…. Hope all is well. Thx Chez for ur orders. I am always cking your kingdoms get one in when I can.

    Reply

  6. chezmah
    Sep 20, 2011 @ 20:32:18

    hi pj !
    do enjoy visiting your kingdom and am soooooo happy that it aint crashing as much as it did durung the ffly event !
    its nice to get back to a more laid back gaming experience !
    otherwise all’s well. my oldest son, who was visiting, just left for the states today and my younger one’s coming for christmas….. gonna start baking early and stocking up the freezer with goodies in the meantime !!!!
    looking forward to changes promised in the gift cart. hope we will all be happy with the upcoming surprise !
    cheers and à biebtôt !
    chezmah

    Reply

  7. Peter
    Sep 21, 2011 @ 18:24:38

    Reducing the bit depth of the graphics will indeed make the game work better, at least for us with original iPads. However, the computation will be the same or increased, as the processor and graphics system are optimized best for the 32-bit graphics now being used. What will be improved will be that the memory used by the graphics will be cut in half by going to a 16-bit-per-pixel model; this will improve the speed at which graphics are downloaded over the internet and will improve the memory footprint of the game. Watching WeRule under system diagnostics reveals that it is currently a memory pig, so reducing the amount of memory used to store the graphics should help. For color graphics, iOS doesn’t support 8-bits-per-pixel, so a mere 50% reduction to 16-bit will have to suffice (and I think it will suffice).

    In addition to being terminated due to low-on-memory conditions (on the iPad 1), the game sometimes crashes for other reasons. Bug fixes could fix that.

    Algorithm optimizations could probably also improve speed. Hopefully the upgrade will in code those as well.

    Reply

    • Totalthinker
      Sep 23, 2011 @ 05:20:26

      I think we will live with the fact that performance will continue to plague the game. Placing items in the new realms on an iPad 1 is so slow that I often have to wait as long as a minute to place a second copy of the same item. So the 16 bits may well have been a half-measure trade off for the increased hit for the new realms.

      Reply

  8. Hotmama359
    Sep 23, 2011 @ 10:15:12

    I can’t get we rule to load on my iphone4. Any suggestions?

    Reply

    • Totalthinker
      Sep 26, 2011 @ 04:52:31

      shut down all background apps (including we rule if it’s already running) then hard reboot (home + power key). That’s the only way I have been able to do it.

      Reply

  9. confuzed1
    Sep 24, 2011 @ 17:31:59

    In case you guys didn’t notice, the harvest orb is free for now.

    Reply

  10. chezmah
    Sep 24, 2011 @ 17:49:04

    i noticed that it looked different ….. toooooo cooooool if its freeeeee !
    i’ll check it out !
    thanks for the info !

    Reply

  11. pjsplantation/v3gasvamp1
    Sep 24, 2011 @ 23:31:00

    woohoo thats so great!!!! free harvesting… no more extra 15% on harvests tho… oh well…yippee

    Reply

Leave a Reply

