Upgrade features hint at more to come

The promised We Rule 1.6 upgrade went live late last week, with five new realms and five clearly in the waiting for release with a future upgrade. As with all upgrades, ngmoco:) isn’t profuse with details other than to tell us the realms tab is on the left and you have to touch and scroll to find the new realm.

What’s missing from their blog posts is the implication of this development. We Rule developers intend the new interface to be a gateway for the continuous addition of new kingdoms and new realms. Like the social map, gamers can access realms by scrolling further and further to the left.

The new realms can be found to the left of the current realms by scrolling the realms window.

We can also watch the leader board scores explode again. Currently four players are tied for the lead with almost 218 billion (that’s right, billion) points. (This strange identical score could be because all four players are maxed out, but the fact that we have a four way tie for fifth place makes me think there’s a problem with the calculations).

The last time ngmoco:) expanded the realms the old leaders were ousted by new leaders with new energy (and maybe more money to spend for mojo) and this may happen again. Zimidar will probably remain in the top ten as he has since the game’s release. And scores will soon jump to 300 billion because players can now pack their realms with rubies, sapphires, diamonds and high-yield items.

Currently the leader boards feature two statistically weird four-way ties: one for first and one for fifth (or second for people who don’t understand how rankings are determined).

The creeping crawl

The downside of the new realms is that adding new buildings has become a painfully slow process for those of us on first generation iPads and next to impossible for older iPhones. I was building a sample realm for the cover of the iBook release of the Grimoire and it took the server almost a minute to place one item and accept a second item of the same kind.

This will not be fixed with graphics, it really is a problem of bandwidth, server response time and the devices’ processing power. But I suspect ngmoco:) will be able to use the influx of cash from new mojo sales to add and upgrade servers.

New harvest orb

I looked on all of ngmoco:)’s sites for information about the new harvest orb but can’t find anything. Readers may have more luck.

Most will have noticed that the harvest orb can now be used for free, although they no longer deliver a 15 percent boost. What I can’t tell is whether or not this is a permanent change or a temporary move. I’m hoping it’s permanent.

The new harvest orb is now free, but provides no additional boost. Most players will make up for this by checking in more often to harvest since they won’t have to pay every time they use one.

If you regret the loss of the boost, don’t. You can still come out even, if not ahead. I suspect most players have been using the orbs as I have—harvesting from realms with the most groves and residences and harvesting manually in less lucrative realms. I had also harvested only when groves blossomed because that was when I could get the best return for using the orb.

With the free orbs I can harvest as often as I want and move the orb into even the least lucrative realms because I don’t have to buy mojo to use it. I save time and earn more, probably as much as I earned with the boosts.

What? No citadel?

Were you as surprised as I (or at least as disappointed) that our new kingdoms didn’t come with upgradable citadels in the main realm? I would have thought there would at least be an auxiliary outpost to anchor the kingdom. I’m even more surprised because ngmoco:) could have charged outrageous citadel upgrade fees which would have spurred players to use mojo to buy more items to earn the upgrade fees.

What were they thinking? Or not thinking?

New event coming?

Readers may have noticed the following on ngmoco:)’s facebook page:

Reports are flooding in from the citizens at the borders of your Kingdom. They all claim to have witnessed hulking beasts marching through the outskirts of the Realms, being led by smaller, unidentified creatures. We’ve sent Scouts to verify these reports. It’s probably nothing to worry about!

Since I haven’t seen these beasts and creatures, I have to wonder if they aren’t gearing up to another event. In the first round we collect the smaller creatures, whatever they are, and graduate to beasts. ngmoco:) has been announcing they will remove the gift cart during the next event, so this little blurb may be their second hint.

It’s possible that they earned so much on mojo from the flutterflies that they won’t need to charge mojo for the harvest orbs any more.

We can only hope.

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Elizabeth (i.e. eliza4222 on plus+)
    Sep 26, 2011 @ 16:35:57

    I found out about the free orb use on the forum…and I’ve been using it all weekend! I’m one of those players who hated that it was 2 mojo to use…so I never used it!
    I really hope it stays free – I don’t care about the 15% bonus.

    I’ve bought all my 5 new realms, but only maxed out size on the main one and one of the others – I put a bunch of overflow in there and all my cp/xp generating decorations over there.
    I’m leaving all the “good stuff” in K1 as I don’t want people to have to troll around 14 kingdoms to find stuff. I have started work on a some designed realms now, which is fun now that I have some breathing room.
    Overall I’m very happy with the upgrade…but I’m not looking forward to a new event – they really stress me out!

    Reply

  2. CLindy
    Sep 26, 2011 @ 19:52:19

    The upgrade has been much more stable. I’ve been “babysitting” a couple of kingdoms for traveling family members this past week, and even with the shuttling between accounts (along with the normal realm checking and order placing) it hasn’t crashed on me more than 2-3 times. I’m very pleased. And I’m doing the same thing Elizabeth is doing with the second page of realms; decorative earners and also some of the silly little goal items. For my purposes, having a castle there wouldn’t actually be helpful, so I’m ok without it.

    Reply

    • Elizabeth (i.e. eliza4222 on plus+)
      Sep 26, 2011 @ 22:04:59

      Yeah, I have no desire for a castle. In fact, I wish I could just shunt the castle in the main realm off to the side or even get rid of it..It hogs so much space. I wish an castle upgrade could be had that would shrink it tiny again…I’d pay mojo to get rid of it or be able to move it or shrink it somehow!

      Reply

  3. pjsplantation/v3gasvamp1
    Sep 27, 2011 @ 13:37:35

    Love the orb!! saves so much time..and like the above only a few crashes..thats a great idea about a smaller castle. I dont mind the designs just a smaller spacial one would be nice.

    Reply

  4. Moontown
    Sep 27, 2011 @ 22:12:59

    I have several orbs but use them very carefully. Only at max coin times and when I am very busy. I cant believe I didnt notice they went free. Thanks for the heads up. I would rather have free harvesting than the 15% boost any day. I hope it stays.

    Reply

    • DaisyBev
      Sep 27, 2011 @ 23:05:07

      Hi,
      I can’t find my Orb! I may have returned it to inventory for safe keeping. Don’t know where it is or
      how to get it back. Searched my kingdom, but remember returning it. Have you any idea where it
      would be?
      DaisyBev

      Reply

  5. DaisyBev
    Sep 27, 2011 @ 23:06:08

    Hi, I would love to use the orb for free, but can’t find mine. I believe I may have put it back in inventory. Not there now. Am I missing it? Does anyone know where it would be? Hope they didn’t take it back by mistake.

    Reply

    • Moontown
      Sep 28, 2011 @ 07:05:38

      Daisy Bev,
      If you cant find it then email ngmoco an let them know its missing. Hopefully they will credit you enough mojo to buy another one.

      Reply

  6. Anonymous
    Sep 28, 2011 @ 01:30:37

    Look in mojo farms Unreleased Image thread for what’s coming in next event http://bit.ly/mWVqMh

    Reply

    • pjsplantation/v3gasvamp1
      Sep 28, 2011 @ 22:27:28

      hi went to ck out the new event since it just showed up on my WR and couldnt find out anything from this site..Theres no direction on where to look..

      Reply

  7. Anonymous
    Sep 28, 2011 @ 01:33:15

    What Joe said on mojo farm

    “Hey everyone,

    Thanks for all of your feedback! We’ve taken a look behind the scenes and I am happy to let you know that the Harvest Orb will remain Mojo-free.

    We’re going to continue to look into tuning the Orb, so you may find in the future there are a limit to free uses per day, or a “Coin tax,” but we intend on keeping an option of using the Orb without having to spend Mojo for each use.

    For the immediate future, the Orb will remain as it is today with no bonus, but no additional cost after initial purchase.

    Let me know if you have any questions.

    Thanks again,
    Joe”

    Reply

  8. confuzed1
    Sep 28, 2011 @ 07:54:30

    The free orb is permanent.

    It was confirmed on page 17 of this thread:

    http://www.serifwebresources.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=6035&forumid=339260

    Reply

Leave a Reply

