Elemental event winding down

The elemental event ends Wednesday morning, and based on the comments players are far happier with this implementation than they were with the flutterflies near debacle. There have been far fewer crashes, and, in case you missed ngmoco:)’s notice when the game launched, turning off mojo confirmation will make the game even more stable.

Both rewards offer enormous payouts and the game seems to play essentially like the previous two. The most common elementals (in this case, the imps) are relatively easy to catch, with the mud being easiest and the fire imp less so.

As a rule of thumb, in all of these events the top left creature is the easiest to catch and the creatures become increasingly more difficult as you move to the right and down. The rarest three creatures are almost always impossible to catch.

I managed to catch all 27 creatures the first evening by harvesting spells with mojo and making sure I caught every one the first time. But that was to run the numbers. Nonetheless, it was far easier this time than in the last two events.

These are the creatures and number of creatures you must catch in the second round to win the elemental forge. The stakes are higher than with past events because you have to catch more of the rarest creatures.

So I would recommend with these games that if you definitely want the reward, spend the mojo on the three most difficult catches (in this case, since you have to catch the three rarest elementals four times each, that’s 120m). But with all of these events, you should be able to catch most items over the course of the week without spending mojo.

Making it to the top 100 in catches will definitely require mojo.

As the deadline looms on Tuesday, however, I would decide how badly you want to play. If you’re determined to succeed, cast spells and spend mojo to mature them as often as possible. Don’t worry about catching creatures after you’ve bagged your limit. Grab at them, and if you miss, move on.

Free orb harvests

ngmoco:) is assuring players that using the orb is permanently free, for now. The “for now” part, of course, means they’re hedging their bets. They are considering capping orb use, and charging a coins penalty for exceeding it. So use it guilt free for now, and don’t worry about what they might do.

Two enhancement requests

While I would never want new enhancements at the expense of processing power and stability, I have stumbled across two enhancements that might make the game more enjoyable.

  • Magic grapes. Okay, I’ve asked for these before. How hard would it be to give players a magic crop that harvests on the same schedule as groves? Especially if developers may cap orb use in the future.
  • Quicker planting I would love the ability to plant the same crop without going back to the crop menu. I’ve seen this in other games, and it would be really helpful for players with magic plots in every realm.

Currently you have to open the crop menu every time you plant a new crop, even thought the game remembers the last crop planted. Why not let players select one crop, and then plant the same crop by touching each plot in turn? If players want to change crops they can simply wait a few seconds before planting again.

I just finished playing Cityville Home Town to review for iPad Envy and one of the few things I like is the ability to select a crop once and then tap on each plot where I want to plant it.

If it means more crashes, however, I’m good.

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. pjsplantation/v3gasvamp1
    Oct 02, 2011 @ 22:45:05

    TT you and I are on the same wave length when it comes to the crops..I actually posted a similar suggestion at the ngmoco forum with a magic crop that has a 2-4 hour harvesting time and pay better than the blackberries.. I also requested a simpler way to plant.. lol still short on the imps and I found in one of my kingdoms the fire was easier and in my higher level kingdom the fire one was easier.. still need 7 elements to complete the 2nd phase.. Used 30 mojo to get thru the 1st one for the 3* elements…am anxiously awaiting some Halloween content for the new realms…hint hint if you have any pull…. : )

    Reply

    • confuzed1
      Oct 04, 2011 @ 07:12:28

      I never took my Halloween decorations down from last year.

      I still have two jack-o-lanterns at my castle entrance! LMAO!!!

      Reply

  2. divercity7
    Oct 04, 2011 @ 13:06:45

    Combo Elemental isn’t showing up… AT ALL. I’ve been waiting on it since day one. Am I doing something wrong?

    Reply

    • Chickmix
      Oct 04, 2011 @ 15:25:32

      I’m getting the combo elemental probably every other harvest, but not the rock elemental. This is the last one I need to complete the second round. Wonder if there’s an algorithm they’re using based on what we’ve already captured? Kind of frustrating but the mojo sale helps (or maybe hurts, dern them!). Is the combo one of the last you need?

      Reply

  3. Lycopodium
    Oct 05, 2011 @ 18:18:02

    Wasn’t this supposed to end at 10am PDT?
    I’m trying to stay in the top 100 and have to keep on catching!

    Reply

  4. Anonymous
    Oct 06, 2011 @ 01:53:55

    Does anybody know when there giving the grand forge out?

    Reply

  5. Lycopodium
    Oct 06, 2011 @ 02:25:49

    Just got it. Looks like the other one but in blue.

    Reply

  6. Anonymous
    Oct 06, 2011 @ 03:30:46

    Somebody who was at 143 got the Grand Forge, 143 and above got it.

    Reply

  7. Lycopodium
    Oct 06, 2011 @ 13:00:26

    So, that means I spent a lot of time and mojo for rules that seem to change at will.
    By the way, I also was given a free magical orb for “participating”. Was that offered to everybody?

    Reply

    • Pjsplantation/V3gasvamp1
      Oct 07, 2011 @ 00:57:25

      Hi
      I’m pretty sure the orb was offered to all. My 3 kingdoms all rec’d one. Btw gift cart just came back all my boosted gifts from ngmoco were the hanging one. I got 4 or 5. Yikes. Feel free to add me if you’d like. Always deliver and do a lot of ordering. Happy ruling.

      Reply

    • JDTagish
      Oct 08, 2011 @ 05:03:10

      I think they had to adjust who got the Grand because the leaderboard didn’t track a lot of catches for some people, especially in the first couple of days, and lots of folks complained that was unfair. Guess they listened, but I don’t know how far down they went with it.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

