Halloween event: Will they deliver?

You may have noticed the splash screen promising a special reward for capturing (or appeasing) 250 monsters. For once I decided to take the event to the next level since the goal required a fixed accomplishment rather than a competition where I might have to commit all my time and mojo to the quest.

As you can see I appeased 250 monsters (and more). So I held up my end of the bargain.

I wanted to be able to tell readers if the reward was worth the investment. Sadly, even though I pulled it off I have yet to even learn what the reward will be. So I will not be conducting any more research since I can’t tell you guys if these post event rewards are worth the effort.

It wasn’t that difficult to appease the monsters. It seems ngmoco:) does reward players by making it easier to catch event creatures as their tally rises. My strategy was to lure only zombies because it only cost a single mojo to spring the lure.

Here was the contract. I’m waiting to see what my special reward might be.

That being said, I sure as hell am not going to capture another 250 monsters with the more expensive lure to test the challenge. If I do actually get the award, I’ll let you know in next week’s post.

Have you seen the new Halloween creatures?

I keep getting messages that a new Halloween creature has been released into my kingdom, but I haven’t seen one yet. They could be hiding in my buildings, or they may just be shy. If you see one, could you send a screenshot?

How could this have happened?

Carol and I were starting the final proofread of the Grimoire when we discovered every single one of the commas had been stripped out. So there will be a slight delay as we go through the manuscript and reinsert them. But it will be happening.

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Pjsplantation/V3gasvamp1
    Oct 31, 2011 @ 23:13:29

    I think the creature is a extra zombie, ghoul or one of the creatures and ngmoco is just giving you an extra one aside from 1 hr or 4 hour release. It happens every day about the same time ( witching hour) so they called it. Let me know if I am wrong.

    Reply

  2. chickmix
    Nov 01, 2011 @ 01:06:48

    Yup, its just an extra zombie/monster. Eagerly awaiting the ibook, but sorry to hear about the commas! That sounds painstakingly frustrating!

    Reply

  3. Moontown
    Nov 01, 2011 @ 06:21:18

    Happy Halloween everyone, My favorite time of the year. You get to dress up and act like a little kid again for awhile. Who wouldnd love it. I need one swamp cresture to finish my event. I havent seen him for two days. Please send me one if you can. nite nite, I have to work at 6am tomorrow. So its off to slumber land with the witches and bats. The zombies and werewovles. and of course the vampires, ghouls, and ghosts:) Sweet dreams friends 🙂 lmao

    Reply

    • pjsplantation/v3gasvamp1
      Nov 01, 2011 @ 20:50:56

      have a few floating around will try to send one your way, lucky you I still need 2 vamps, 1 wolf and a swamp before tomorrow yikes..Happy Halloween to you too….

      Reply

    • Totalthinker
      Nov 02, 2011 @ 03:37:45

      If you still haven’t seen one, and don’t mind spending mojo, plant and harvest the 2m monster lure until you see one. He will show up.

      Reply

  4. ellylons525
    Nov 02, 2011 @ 01:35:46

    Your Halloween realm looks pretty good. Check out mine … it’s main realm of kingdom 2. I submitted my screenshot & immediately got 30 mojo for doing so (i sent it as an email because i dont facebook).
    As for the extra creature, i had numerous ones in other realms…they were all “catchable” i guess thats what they meant.
    ellylons525

    Reply

  5. Ravenpuff
    Nov 02, 2011 @ 02:19:08

    Sigh, yet another mojo sucking event. Urgh! I really am beginning to lose interest with these events that suck up mojo and still periodically crash the game.

    Reply

  6. confuzed1
    Nov 02, 2011 @ 20:05:39

    The reward for 250 is a similar building to Frank’s lab, but a different color.

    I’m not sure what it will be called, or who the character will be.

    I assume Frank’s bride, but that’s just my logical guess.

    Reply

  7. pjsplantation/v3gasvamp1
    Nov 02, 2011 @ 20:33:59

    wow made it but as Ravenpuff said what a mojo sucking event.. you could get thru the first level by the end of the time period, both my other kingdoms did, but to get thru the 2nd phase took about 40 mojo or so… crazy…on the last day last hour main kingdom….Now the gift card is back and no better than before as promised…Just hope no more events for a while every 2 weeks is too much I think

    Reply

  8. chezmah
    Nov 02, 2011 @ 22:20:37

    BOOOO !!!!!!! WHAT A LET-DOWN !!!!!!

    A full week of clocking in and punching away at the little window to make the zombies and monsters appear…. some were caught, some not … some just disappeared (due to the latest wave of crashes)!
    So… thats ok….. but what is NOT, is the quasi TOTAL ABSENCE of the one character that you need to complete the quest…. in my case it was the werewolf.
    in the second part of the quest there was no option to catch it or not, there were no werewolves !!!!
    so no matter how diligent i was at being there every four hours, i could not win as none ever showed up to try to catch. I INVESTED WAY TOO MUCH TIME TO REACH THE GOAL ONLY TO DISCOVER, AT THE END, THAT IT WAS A HOPELESS CASE.
    the game ended abruptly, no definate time was published … “ends on the 2nd of november” …… that was all we were told….. and then “poof” at 9pm (in my time zone) the pumpkin stopped producing !
    i dumbly held hope til the last moment… wo be me….!
    but the disappointment was total and i will not play the next event. I really felt i was strung along to imagine that it was possible !!!! well it wasnt, never had the chance, as no opportunity to catch the last creature was offered. it just never appeared !!!!
    not cool, no fun and i’m not going to waste any more time on such “events”. too much investment, too many crashes and way too little satisfation …. TOO BAD !
    chezmah

    Reply

    • Pjsplantation/V3gasvamp1
      Nov 03, 2011 @ 22:21:35

      Hi Chez
      I get what u mean about elusive creatures. I frantically smashed my pumpkin every 30-45 secs to make the nostferatu to appear and what made things worse is I needed 2 to finish. I was hoping to get thru with minimal mojo, but 2 to expedite and 7 to “satiate” added up fast in the very last hours of the event and lest I forget the accidental mojo boost on a few bldgings due to trying to tap the creatures and missing. So any ngmoco peeps reading this. Please spread the events out farther and use the robin hood event as a happy medium.

      Reply

  9. chezmah
    Nov 04, 2011 @ 09:27:46

    ihi pj, i agree totally that the robin hood event was perfect and therefore i expected ngmoco to have continued with that format as they got alot of compliments on it. that is why i was so disappointed !!! i was looking forward to a cool event and it was a total letdown with a too heavy dose of frustration and stress for a no win/ no win situation and result !!!!
    PS. I AM OFF TO HUNGARY FOR A WEEK SO PLEASE NO ORDERS ANYONE !!!!
    love to all and happy ruling !
    chezmah

    Reply

  10. Jed
    May 27, 2012 @ 01:40:48

    Hey, would you agree that the winning blu mar ten rxeeims actually more closely adhere to blu mar ten’s usual style than did their own version of the track? Except maybe the last one in your collage. Even though that last part was harder sounding than the original, it was slower. Or did you slow it down to match the others? I was thinking that maybe in these competitions you should first understand the original artist’s style, and make that your foundation. Beyond that I would bring your own style in as a texture. I particularly liked the first version in the collage. The warm piano is a really nice touch.Don’t get me wrong, this is not about how much I like yours, because I totally do. This is about winning the contests, which I’d like to see you do.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

