Opting out of events

If there was any weekend to check into the hospital this was the once since there is absolutely nothing new to report from the kingdoms themselves.

The Halloween event ended and Mellowy7 led the kingdoms in captures with 3000. Zimidar finished second with just under 2600. After complaining that ngmoco:) never delivered my award for catching 250 monsters I found it with the gifts in my available buildings. It would have been nice for a little dialogue to let me know, but at least I found it.

No doubt there will be another event in a week or two. I’ve noticved more and more people are complaining about them. Look on the bright side, events are slowing down the constant release of new buildings, which many players also found wearying.

You don’t have to participate. I found that when I removed the lure I never saw another monster. If you’re truly annoyed with the events try planting the lure and then removing it. You may have to catch the few creatures that have already been released, but that will be the end of it. No more annoying monsters.

TMI to follow

As I said it’s a good thing things in the kingdoms were so slow because I spent most of the weekend in the hospital. I had a routine colonoscopy on Friday and woke up with horrible pain in my abdomen on Saturday. I called my doctor’s after hours clinic as instructed if I was experiencing abdominal pain.

The nurse asked me to grade it on a scale of one to 10 and I said I had no idea what the base line of comparison was. I mean, I’d never had my arm ripped off and never passed a kidney stone, which is what I would rate a 10. All I knew was I’d never felt that much pain in my life.

I explained that to the nurse and she still wanted a number so I told her it must be a 6 or 7 since that was where would would rate it on the scale of worst possible imaginable pain. She told me to drink lots of water and tough it out.

Two hours later I decided the nurse could go to hell and asked my wife how much it would cost to go to to the emergency ward. She said a couple hundred dollars for the co-pay so I decided to drink more water and tough it out. Fifteen minutes later I realized I had an objective measure of pain. I was willing to spend $200 to make it go away.

I explained that to the admitting nurse and they must not have accepted “willing to pay $200” and “worst pain ever” as a 10 because it took three hours before they finally delivered the pain killers. In the meantime I paced around outside the room, and groaned and tried to make my face twist in as much pain as possible, but they must have figured I was on to them and was just acting out to get their attention.

I saw the doctor at 3 and they gave me two doses of Darvocet at six. The Darvocet did nothing. I think they finally started to take me seriously. They gave me a super strong dose and then a Vicodin. No help.

They finally did a CT scan and told me I had a kidney stone. I asked the doctor if that meant I had an objective measure for 10 on the pain scale. She assured me that qualified as a 10.

So take this as a lesson, if not one for gaming. If you hurt worse than you ever hurt before, just tell them it’s a 10 on the pain scale. Then scream. Maybe they’ll admit you right away and not wait around for three hours to give you the drugs.

After I passed the stone this morning I found a kidney stone building among the gifts in We Rule. Who would have thought? So I installed it in my Halloween realm long enough to take a screen shot.

This is my kidney stone in the middle of my Halloween realm. Don’t look for it. I ran the numbers and it returns 0cp. So I took it out. But I did want to keep a record.

I hope that wasn’t too much information, but I warned you.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Johanna Waterhouse
    Nov 07, 2011 @ 17:13:05

    Well I needed some humor and I am sorry it was at your expense bit it lightened my day. Now continue on as I always look forward to what you write and all the stats you provide!

    Reply

  2. chezmah
    Nov 07, 2011 @ 17:44:57

    GREAT article TotalThinker. Sorry u went thru so much pain, but thanks for sharing ! I hate to say this but your article made me laugh…. not at your pain of course, for that you have my full sympathy and concern, but it was the way u described the ongoings at the hospital …. with much humour, that made me laugh out loud. Hope u are feeling better !
    chezmah

    Reply

  3. Terri
    Nov 08, 2011 @ 02:04:11

    I am sooooo sorry!! That sounded positively dreadful but you managed to make me smile regardless. No… I am not laughing AT you, but WITH you. 🙂 I am sure you were not laughing at the time. 😦
    Thank you for the informative web site. You do a great job.

    Terrirein

    Reply

  4. gogosquid7
    Nov 08, 2011 @ 18:47:35

    Wow, I am sorry you had to go through all that pain. You are doing such a great job here for all of us loyal players, and I’m sure I am not alone when I say I look forward to all your updates.

    I hope you are feeling better soon, and thank you again for all your work and information you have done for us,

    Gogosquid7

    Reply

  5. Elizabeth (i.e. eliza4222 on plus+)
    Nov 08, 2011 @ 21:15:32

    Oh dear, what an experience! I’m glad you are doing better…

    Reply

  6. Lycopodium
    Nov 10, 2011 @ 12:01:46

    Hi Philip,

    Really sorry to hear about your ordeal. Normally, any physician should have been able to diagnose you through a clinical examination and give you rapidly the help you needed. A kidney stone pain is 12 out of 10!

    On a lighter note I have been unable to connect to We Rule for hours. Am I the only one with that problem?

    Be well my friend.

    Reply

  7. Hotmama359
    Nov 16, 2011 @ 01:02:59

    Hope you are feeling better!

    Reply

  8. confuzed1
    Nov 18, 2011 @ 08:12:13

    Over at Mojo Farm, Ngmojoe has told us that the next event would be around Thanksgiving time.

    A petition was submitted to Ngmoco, telling them that we insisted on more time between events, and it seems that they may have granted the requests.

    As for your kidney stone, yikes! I’ve never passed a stone before, but I did donate a kidney to my father-in-law.

    It just so happened that the kidney I gave him had two stones brewing in it–two stones that a normally healthy person’s body would have passed without any notice–but in his weakened state, they grew large, and he had to pass them the hard way!!!

    It was sort of a good news/bad news knd of thing!

    On an unrelated note, is Acehound playing again? I’ve noticed him showing up on my social map a couple times.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

