The lure of the necromancer

Harry Potter’s final installment hit home theaters this weekend and ngmoco:) celebrated with a magic wand shop and necromancer’s lair. The wand shop looks kind of cool and the necromancer’s lair is supposed to glow in the dark.

Oops.

It never gets dark in We Rule.

Even more interesting, ngmoco:) added a new wrinkle to high stakes shopping. The necromancers lair is officially the highest paying building available (at least until the next event) and pays almost double in coins the value of the next contender.

See how the necromancer’s lair is supposed to glow in the dark? I thought that would be so cool until I realized it never gets dark in We Rule.

Not only does it kick the thunderbird lair in the rear on total points by almost two thousand, it offers a significantly higher hourly yield. Furthermore, the thunderbird lair has only been around for a few weeks. Usually ngmoco:) waits three months before replacing the shop leader.

There is, however, a catch. Catch 299. As in $2.99. Each lair costs three dollars. To make up for it, ngmoco:) claims they gave everyone a free Merlin’s Keep, but really? Three dollars?

Would I recommend you install one? Absolutely. Would I recommend that you fill a realm with them the way many high level players do? No. Not a chance. Not on your life.

This doesn’t mean you won’t find some kingdoms with ten or twenty, but put this is perspective. Ten necromancer lairs cost $30. ngmoco:) now seems to allow players to take more than forty orders (at least players at L70). That would be $120. I’m not spending that much for items in a game and I recommend you don’t either.

Within a week or two ngmoco:) will release another event with shops that yield even more. Their pattern has been to top the thunderbird lair with the mastery shop every other event (and that would be the next one). Even though I haven’t seen any messages about strange creatures on their Facebook page I wouldn’t be surprised to see kangaroos and koala bears Wednesday.

Even worse, if they top the necromancer’s lair in four weeks the way they replaced the thunderbird’s lair, you will have to replace your entire investment. That’s not the worst possible scenario. If ngmoco:) sees that players will blow sixty to a hundred dollars to pack realms with top shops, you can bet only the people who can afford a hundred bucks a month will be able to add them.

This is Dragonvale where players have to buy dragon eggs with hundreds of gems, only they can’t earn gems. You have to buy them at a rate similar to buying mojo. Let us bow our heads and pray ngmoco:) doesn’t think of this as a good idea.

I looked at Dragonvale based on a reader’s recommendation. Some of the dragons cost 500 to 1o00 gems (which cost twenty five to fifty real dollars). I remember thinking that ngmoco:) might not be so outrageous with the mojo after all. The necromancer’s lair says they’re thinking about it, though, and I think the market needs to say, “NFW.”

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Elizabeth
    Nov 15, 2011 @ 02:19:30

    I bought one lair because I like to have one of all but boosted gifts…I didn’t even realize the returns are that great, but I’m not getting more than one! Too expensive for me! I’ve seen a few folks with lots of them….oy….

    Reply

  2. Taurius
    Nov 15, 2011 @ 06:39:00

    In Dragonevale, you can breed all the dragons. Even the ones that cost thousands of gems. You just have to be lucky and figure out what two dragons you have to breed in order to make the rare one.

    Reply

  3. David Evans Morris
    Nov 15, 2011 @ 19:55:41

    A correction about Dragonvale:

    1) you CAN earn gems, albeit slowly, because your friends can give you gifts of gems every day (or every other day, maybe?) Anyway, gem-gifting circles have arisen (see the Off Topic thread over at mojo-farm) to maximise gem intake. Plus, completing tasks in the game, or participating (and winning) in the Colosseum, also earn you gems. So yes, it might take a while to amass 2000 gems for free, but it can be done. HOWEVER…

    2) you don’t need to buy those eggs, just figure out the secret recipe for breeding those dragons! The gems are just for those impatient enough to want a cash option…

    Just setting the record straight! Keep up the good work!

    Reply

    • Totalthinker
      Nov 16, 2011 @ 03:00:22

      True, but I’m not sure you can earn 2000 gems. I could be wrong.

      But if there’s a recipe for the rainbow dragon that’s good to know.

      Reply

  4. pjsplantation/v3gasvamp1
    Nov 16, 2011 @ 15:04:47

    good morning,
    Not sure where to put this, but has anyone any problems with the new update??
    My game crashes more, and I cant order from the main realms on a lot of friends kingdoms, sometimes if I visit another realm then return to their main kingdom it will let me order but at this rate it will take me forever to order from my 3 kingdoms… yikes and put in a word to ngmoco that we need a mojo sale thanks

    Reply

  5. chezmah
    Nov 16, 2011 @ 20:54:42

    my game is crashing on orders but most annoying are the lags that are slowing down the game play an awful lot.
    ps my kingdoms are a mess… i’m trying to reorganize…. too many things in inventory and where do i put them all ?
    ive put the good stuff in the NE realm for now !
    happy we ruling to all
    chezmah

    Reply

  6. chezmah
    Nov 16, 2011 @ 20:55:51

    pps : never got my 30 mojo for the halloween participation !!!???!!!

    Reply

  7. pjsplantation/v3gasvamp1
    Nov 17, 2011 @ 13:57:31

    girl you are never open for orders lol..did you contact ngmoco about the mojo? they were tricky on that reward.. had to bribe us to like them on facebook to get the mojo..wow

    Reply

  8. chezmah
    Nov 17, 2011 @ 14:45:27

    hi pj !
    as per orders, its a question of timing !!! (lol) …no really ! its truue, i order out alot…. in my weird way of calculating, its optimal as i earn fully on my properties (if an order comes in and my property is almost ready to cash in, i loose what ive gained to complete an outside order. the way i figure it is that i can earn on my property plus on outside orders simultaneously. also if someone orders a vineyard from me i lose one of my 36 possible orders on an elemental crest or necro thingamagig which brings me more coins. i dont care about experience as, eventually ill move upwards sooner or later !
    however at night (my time is at least 6 hrs before yours)…. orders that ive placed come in and then they free up space for eventual incoming orders.
    ive always prefered the creative aspect of this game ie fixing up my realms to the competitive aspect. so this is fine with me.
    i know you have me in mind and every now and then i appreciate an order from you… its like a “hi, how are you, thinking of you” sign. but not to worry, i really cant and dont expect to get a lot of incoming orders.
    tis nice however to read your little notes on the grimoire !!!!
    have a great day. im off to harvest some thyme and aneth from the garden… tis the season !
    à bientot
    chezmah

    Reply

  9. chezmah
    Nov 18, 2011 @ 23:09:32

    hi again pj
    sent a note to ngmoco (did not have time to do so before as i was away) and, sure enough, they got back to me right away and credited me the 30 mojo !!!
    so that issue is solved (and must say ngmoco was super efficient in their response) …. so i’m real happy !
    i was wondering if others are having the same problem with the social that i am having today : neighboring kingdoms are marked as open but when i go in and try to order, i cant order anything… the kingdom is non responsive ???!!!……..???
    this is happening alot today !

    Reply

    • Deka
      Nov 24, 2011 @ 14:58:56

      You were lucky. I sent them an email asking about it around the same time and got told “we’re still giving it out. So wait.”

      Reply

  10. Mejaa
    Nov 20, 2011 @ 08:51:03

    Hi chezmah,
    I have similar issues from time to time. I enter a friends kingdom, marked as open, but cannot order. For me it always worked to go back to social map and then enter the kingdom again. Still annoying though.
    Another thing I observed is that there seems to be something wrong with harvesting. It happened quite a few times now that I harvested, planted new crops and closed the game. By close I mean pressing the home button on iPad, not deleting the app from the multitask list. And then when I opened the game again, my old crops where suddenly back (or rotten). I did not observe this before the last update…

    Reply

  11. pjsplantation/v3gasvamp1
    Nov 20, 2011 @ 14:39:23

    hi chez thats exactly what I was saying..sometimes it works to enter another realm then go back to the main realm… the main realm is the only place that I seem to be having that issue with..weird tho sometimes it wont let me order from the higher paying shops, but a lesser one it will…. Glad you got your mojo…Im still waiting for a sale, between accidentally hitting the mojo button on shops to my baby girl boosting gift cause she like to watch the presents change colors….I need a sale..lol
    Happy Sunday

    Reply

  12. chezmah
    Nov 20, 2011 @ 22:49:22

    hi mejaa and pj
    yep the problem with ordering seems to only happen on the main realm and with the expensive stuff … weird huh !!!???!!!
    i sent a note to ngmoco, hope they can fix it soon ! tis quite annoying !
    i ve had no problems harvesting, thats working ok.
    dont feel bad pj, i only had 7 mojo left, and now, with the halloween thingy i have a grand total of 37 !!!!!
    cant go too far with that !!! (lol)
    night night to all and à bientôt
    chezmah

    Reply

  13. DragonVale Free Gems
    Jun 20, 2012 @ 14:10:05

    Wow, awesome weblog structure! How lengthy have you been running a blog for?
    you make blogging glance easy. The entire look of your site
    is excellent, as smartly as the content material!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

