Slow down the push to mojo

The harvest feast is over and Zimidar won with almost 3800 delightful dishes cooked. I think Zimidar should also win the WRFF1 award because he’s been at the top of the leadership boards forever. He must also

  • be independently wealthy,
  • play non-stop 24 hours a day, or
  • have hacked into ngmoco:)’s server and created an unlimited supply of mojo

because he’s outlasted every player in the game and I can’t, for the life of me, imagine how else he does it.

Here are the top three leaders from the Harvest Feast. I thought it was difficult to catch two hundred. Think how hard they worked to collect in the thousands.

Oh, wait. I have a fourth possibility: Zimidar, like fishnships, is actually several different players. We’ve corresponded, and he seems like a really nice guy, but that doesn’t mean he’s a solo act. He may even have cloned himself.No, that stretches the realm of believability.He could also really be a nice guy (or woman who uses a guy’s avatar) who’s just way better than the rest of us. I believed that until this week when Herman Cain destroyed my faith in the myth that there are really nice guys who are just better than the rest of us. Because Herman’s dark underbelly forced him from the race, I had to throw all my Ayn Rand books away. So deep was my crisis of faith. Fortunately, I never read them because I had the Cliff’s Notes, and if you settle for the Cliff’s Notes you’ll never be good enough for Ayn Rand.Speaking of the Harvest Feast, how many of you thought the Mashed Potato dish looked suspiciously like the Stay Puft Marshmallow Man? Do you think this might have been a shrewd product placement deal between ngmoco:) and the producers of Ghostbusters III?

Get rid of the butter and add a blue hat, and we have the Stay Puft Marshmallow man. Is this a sign of things to come?

If that’s what happened, can we expect a Ghostbusters event when Akroyd finally finishes the movie? Will we see Stay Puft, Zool, Gozer and a return of the Mashed Potato Man? My crystal ball is cloudy on this one. The fortune tellers fortunes have waned, and her powers diminished.

Mojo burnout

If you read the shop updates, you know the first winter release really pissed me off. The snow fort, which is another super high earner for vendors, can only be purchased with mojo. This follows the grand farm house, which can only be purchased with mojo, Segovia castle, which can only be purchased with mojo, and the necromancer’s lair, which costs $3. Of the six recently released high yield shops, four cost real money or mojo.Only the dragonslayer’s den and thunderbird lair outperform, and those require levels 65 and 68. The dark knight’s haven (L50) delivers a competitive hourly return at 3o0hcp, but a lower yield in comparison. It seems as though ngmoco:) is, in fact, moving toward the trend to offer exclusive items as I predicted earlier. Other games do this, but not with quite the same ruthlessness. Zynga mixes cash items with high-yield items customers can buy with coins. Trade Nations has some incredibly expensive cash only (aka magic bean) purchases, but none of them are for income generating properties. Magic beans buy highly decorative items (and one new realm). Dragonville charges a steep price for dragons, but, as one reader pointed out, players can breed them (although not always successfully).Had the farm and fort not been sandwiched around an event that were very expensive for mojo, I wouldn’t have been quite so taken by surprise. But it usually costs me fifty mojo just to plant, mature and process high level items to run the numbers. If I have to spend as much to get one, it becomes aggravating.Even worse, ngmoco:) announced on the splash sheet that they added new boosted gifts to the carpet but didn’t say what those gifts would be. Players willing to gamble on a lottery at least want to know what they’re gambling for. I don’t know any who would gamble for “an unspecified gift.”

Hey! We can get a boosted gift. Don’t know what it is. Maybe we can find out on their facebook blog (although half the time we can’t). How many people want to gamble real money on “something?” At least after they’ve been burned.

Okay, I do. The guys who buy blu ray players in boxes in gas station parking lots sight unseen. But they think it’s a blu ray player. Even those guys wouldn’t shell out money to someone who says, “Hey, buddy, I have something in this box. Want to buy it for $50?”I haven’t decided whether or not to stop counting numbers on mojo only items. On the one hand it might do a disservice to readers (which is why I always have in the past). On the other hand, it would undermine my own position in the blog that players shouldn’t invest in mojo only shops.The more players invest, the more willing ngmoco:) seems to be to accelerate their release. I also say this because ngmoco:) will simply replace them with an even higher yield item in a week or two. High yield shops deliver only a small boost to experience and revenue unless you invest in bulk. Players want to know there’s a chance they can actually place the order at that shop. To install six or seven shops with mojo costs several hundred mojo (around $30). It makes no sense financially to invest real money in an item that will be gone in a month or two. Especially when you will have to spend more real dollars to buy the mojo to buy the upgraded building.If ngmoco:) isn’t willing to give you a coin based version of the same building, stop buying the building. It’s not as though they won’t collect plenty of money from players buying mojo for gifts and events.


1We Rule Favorite Fan. Or we could go with We Rule Fan Forever.back

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Moontown
    Dec 06, 2011 @ 02:20:18

    I decided to not mojo anything on this last event. (I went crazy on the Halloween one.) I had a hard time but I stuck to my decision. My sucess rate was terrible and only ended up with the corn statute and level one building. But I saved a ton of real money. And the boosted gifts have been worse. I get coins and xp and 4 tea party trees in a row. I cant belive how a few mojo here and there adds up. So heres to playing for fun and not cash (or at least very little.) for now.

    Reply

  2. Moontown
    Dec 06, 2011 @ 02:22:34

    Oh by the way I saw a kingdom yesterday that had the castle on the main realm moved to the back corner. Has anyone else seen that and if so how do you do it?

    Reply

    • confuzed1
      Dec 07, 2011 @ 02:32:05

      Do you remember the player’s name?

      I’d like to see that.

      Reply

      • Moontown
        Dec 07, 2011 @ 06:01:21

        His name is Guy0084. I find it interesting that he has several hundred gold pirateships. Those were gifted or boosted. Every time I go to his kingdom I get booted. But if this a real kingdom that means someone figured out how to move the castle and I would like to find out how.

      • confuzed1
        Dec 09, 2011 @ 05:03:15

        Wow… I don’t know how that’s possible!

        I started a thread at Mojo Farm about it though.

        If anyone gets to the bottom of it I’ll let you know!

      • confuzed1
        Dec 09, 2011 @ 09:23:45

        Okay, so it turns out there was already a thread on that.

        Zimidar says that this is possible by hacking the code in the game, which will result in a ban.

        That is probably also how they got those gold pirate ships.

  3. confuzed1
    Dec 07, 2011 @ 02:30:30

    I missed out on the dragon event, because I was on hiatus from the game.

    I used mojo once on the Flutterflies, but not since then on any event, and I’ve completed them all.

    During every event there is a special thread at Mojo Farm where people help each other out. I have been able to finish the last three events without spending any mojo.

    Also, Zimidar posts occasionally over there. I believe he is a doctor, so it’s safe to say this game isn’t making him go broke.

    However, I have no idea when he finds the time for patients! LMAO!!!!

    Reply

  4. confuzed1
    Dec 07, 2011 @ 02:33:04

    Oh yeah, I forgot to address the mashed potato dude… I too, immediately thought of Stay Puft when I saw him. 🙂

    Reply

  5. rob88249
    Dec 07, 2011 @ 12:56:33

    So has anyone worked out how to move the main castle?? Would love to shift it back

    Reply

  6. LordOnion
    Dec 09, 2011 @ 12:02:27

    Has anyone who didn’t unlock the 4 goal statues in this event noticed the goals didn’t disappear. They are stuck their with no way to finish them off and you cant use mojo to do it either. Do you think ill need to wait a year or will ngmoco remove them or allow you to pay mojo to finish them off? I want the mashed potato dude… i was only one away!!!

    Add Me
    LordOnion Lvl 54

    Reply

    • LordOnion
      Dec 15, 2011 @ 12:38:31

      This is an error. NGMOCO emailed me to confirm they are currently trying to remove any uncompleted ones! Just thought id let you all know! LordOnion

      Reply

  7. chezmah
    Dec 09, 2011 @ 21:01:00

    is anyone else having problems with the social map…. kingdoms that are posted as open but when you get in there are no open signs ?
    also still crashing regularly…. seems like its when they are updating the active players on the social list ?
    makes for alot of wasted time logging back in and reloading constantly.
    am i alone with this issue ?
    wrote to ngmojo help but they said that it happens when u go over the 50 alloted orders… i have monitored and its not so. also its a pretty daunting task to keep trck of your number of in and out orders and stop taking orders even tho the open sign says u still have open orders available…
    does anyone else have this problem and do you have any feed back from ngmoco on it?
    its driving me crazy and i’d sure like to know whats going on !

    Reply

  8. chezmah
    Dec 11, 2011 @ 11:21:23

    another question …. !!!!
    i read something about a snow decoration contest but now i can find no more information on it.
    it seems like the communication from ngmocco is getting scarcer ?
    can anyone direct me to the info on this ” contest ” ?

    Reply

  9. chezmah
    Dec 14, 2011 @ 22:52:23

    thanks confuzed…. it’ been driving me nuts and i have to admit i’m relieved to know i’m not alone and that hopefully it will soon be fixed.
    ordering has become a time consuming nightmare !!!

    Reply

    • LordOnion
      Dec 15, 2011 @ 13:27:40

      I’ve also had the same issues chezmah you are deffo not alone. i got the same response from NGMOCO as you did. I think they are working on stability fixes as their was problems with the thanks giving event they are still trying to fix. i.e. uncompleted thanks giving goals are still on peoples goals list when they should have been removed!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

