Winter’s coming

As winter content keeps pouring in, speculation has begun about a winter design contest to follow halloween’s design spectacular. I’ve checked ngmoco:)’s blog and Facebook site for information and found none, but that doesn’t mean their won’t be one.

Based on the Halloween winners, I should warn players that the ngmoco:) judges like gimmicky design tricks. I have nothing against mazes and halloween jack-o-lantern faces made with glowing jack-o-lanterns, but I do feel there is more to design than patterns. So, regardless of ngmoco:)’s plans, the Grimoire will be featuring it’s own winter design showcase.

Since there are plenty of realms available and plenty of winter decorations coming, this year I will ask for players to fill an entire realm with their winter design. The items don’t have to be exclusively winter related, but you stand a better chance of being featured if you add items we might associate with winter (e.g., St. Basil’s Cathedral would work, but not Mt. Vesuvius). Nor does the theme have to be Christmas. You could do Valhalla, which is definitely associated with winter.

I will be looking for some sense that you thought about the general appearance of the elements. I will be looking for balance and color selection, as well as design techniques (including patterns and repetition). Don’t rush it. Take your time and tinker. Sketch out some ideas on paper. To enter simply send an email with your player id and which realm you used for the contest. Yes, you can do more than one realm.

I have already set up my kingdom for the showcase. Santa and the elves are waiting for me to add make it look as festive as possible. I suggest you start with a focal point (I used the winter walls and frozen lake) and build from there.

Submit your contest information by December 26 (yes, 2011). I will review the entries and publish screenshots of the top three-to-five entries. No, you don’t win anything. That’s why I’m calling this a showcase and not a contest.

Hoping for more return appearances

We’ve already seen the return of some popular winter items from last season. I hope there will be more to come. I loved the peppermint cottage, candy cane forests and ginger bread shop.

Fortunately, I kept mine in inventory but I would really like to see newer players get a chance to install them.Two special items I hope to see are the toy bag with animated Santa and Santa’s sleigh. Santa’s sleigh took up very little room and delivered 100xp every few hours. They were inexpensive by this year’s standards and could be used to create some interesting designs.

The mysterious moving castle

I noticed some buzz in the comments about Guy0084. Somehow he figured out how to move his castle and players want to know how he did it. I don’t have the slightest idea, but it’s certainly cool. Hopefully he’ll post a note to players on the Grimoire to share his secrets. I don’t see any competitive advantage, but I certainly see it’s design possibilities.

How did this happen? Guy0084 managed to relocate his castle to the back corner of his main realm.Hopefully he’ll share with other fans, since the trick offers no competitive advantage that I can see (unlike stacking).

Who knows? Maybe we’ll see a demonstration on YouTube some day.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Elizabeth (i.e. eliza4222 on plus+)
    Dec 12, 2011 @ 17:25:22

    I would love to be able to move my castle to a corner in my main realm. I hate having it in the middle….I hope it’s a legit thing and not some hacking thing…

    Reply

  2. chezmah
    Dec 12, 2011 @ 22:43:08

    hi y’all
    am having more and more problems ordering from the social map….. even tho there are open signs up, when i go into a kingdom, all the open signs disappear.
    just want to know if i’m the only one having this problem since the new update.
    it now happens everytime i try to order !!!!
    thanks and hppy ruling to all !

    Reply

  3. Moontown
    Dec 13, 2011 @ 06:25:02

    When I found Guy0084 I thought it was cool so I started checking all the sites to find out anything. Everyone has come to the same conclusion. They think hes hacked the system. I have ordered from him several times, all of which have come back undelivered. So I dont think hes still playing. Maybe he got booted. I hope one day they make it so we can move the castle around and go back to earlier colors too.
    You all have a Merry Christmas or a Happy holiday which ever you prefer.

    Reply

  4. LordOnion
    Dec 14, 2011 @ 12:28:41

    I hope their is a winter design contest but I think NGMOCO are going to release more Christmas items before any design comps. Ive started my Christmas realm. Takes ages tho! Feel free to have a look. User name LordOnion SW Realm and Happy Christmas

    Reply

  5. Moontown
    Dec 17, 2011 @ 06:35:41

    Today I am angry. I spent 80 mojo on the gift cart. I wanted some of the new Christmas items. What I got besides the coins and xp was 5 goblin watchtowers, 3 goblin shaman hut ,goblin butcher shop 2 goblin ranger stations and a goblin cottage. Not one Christmas item. I quit buying gift cart awhile ago but the tricked me with all these cute holiday things. Boy I was a fool. So buyer beware

    Reply

  6. Chickmix
    Dec 17, 2011 @ 07:26:16

    I actually have been tinkering with a GoT themed Wall in my north realm (before this mysterious wall was debuted from ngmoco;) that seems to reference it). It’s not much now, mostly because I don’t have the patience some of the more talented designers I’ve seen, but I have inklings to do more… Your design challenge for HG readers may be motivating! Can’t wait to see what gets submitted here from all different kinds of influences.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

