Winter design showcase tops last year

Winter break arrives

I will be taking some time off to work on other projects as I did last year. I will post to the blog if something important happens, and I will keep updating the numbers as quickly as I can. See you in February.

And the showcase features…

The entries are all in and I picked the five designs I thought really expressed the possibilities of winter realms in We Rule. If your entry wasn’t included, that doesn’t mean I didn’t like it. These just struck a chord with me for balance, symmetry and creativity.

Next year I will remember to promote this more than I did so more people will get a chance to participate but I appreciate every entry.

The entries were far more elaborate this year, but we had a lot more to work with too. Had more of the winter gifts showed up, we might have seen even cooler displays.

The design that truly stood out (and usually I prefer more organic designs) was the Christmas tree by Petra Kunzan (asdfcxy3). K1W. Her south realm is worth checking out as well.
Click image to see full size

Click image to see full size
Kevin Toh’s (storm738) dimensional kingdom conveys some creepiness when you realize how many skulls the goblins collected to build it. K2S
Michael LaSordo (ml411) built this slightly asymmetrical winter port city. K1SW
Click image to see full size

Click image to see full size
The skull posts in this winter realm shouldn’t be quite so surprising since this is Valhalla, Priscilla Tan (pristan65) contributed this design.K1South
Note the use of locks, rivers and waterfalls in Dagmar Sinden’s winter realm (dee14850). K1MW
Click image to see full size

You should check out Dagmar’s main realm, which is ready for Valentine’s day. Kevin Toh really went all out in his kingdom design, putting him up their with Jewingry for elaboration. One realm even extends way beyond the borders. I won’t tell you which one because so many are worth noting.

This is another one of those “how did he do it?” designs. Kevin extended elements far past the borders. I couldn’t even capture the entire realm with a screen shot.
Click image to see full size

Mojo exhaustion

A number of players would have liked to see more from ngmoco:) than the hastily thrown together speedy gift event. I experienced more crashes than with any other event (losing several speedy gifts and one Woodman’s cottage from the gift cart). Many players were tapped out of mojo and ngmoco:) hasn’t offered a mojo sale for the last three events.

This, combined with the paucity of Christmas gifts in the gift cart (I got three in three weeks—even with boosting—and one disappeared with a crash) and the fact that several of the winter items could only be purchased with mojo. Carol barely finished one level of the event (as did many others).

I think I saw a couple of people with Santa statues, but I was cleaned out of mojo as well and for some reason the event didn’t appear on the leader boards. No one could keep track of how many gifts they captured and we have no event winners.

The timing of the event wasn’t ideal since many of us were away on vacation and couldn’t check in as often as we normally do. I didn’t visit several of my realms for several days in a row because of family obligations.

Usually ngmoco:) at least offers a super high returning building every two events, but the teddy bear shop and toy factory didn’t score any points in the record book.

Please, ngmoco:), please give us a rest from the constant barrage of new items and gifts, and please give us a mojo sale quickly. I suspect you will see a sharp decline in purchases if you don’t.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Moontown
    Jan 03, 2012 @ 07:17:08

    This was the hardest by far for me. I didnt get half way thru the chalange. I never saw two of the three hard ones. But oh well I wasnt going to spend any mojo anyway.I did get back the 80 mojo I spent on gifts the first day they advertised christmas items and didnt get any. I said if they are going to advertise they better deliver. I got shaman huts and swamps and all thing like that. So i complained and they kindly gave me my mojo and delivered 1 of each gift item in my gift box. I am so anti Mojo right now. If they want me to spend in the future they better make it better for me. Im the customer. If I dont like what there selling Im not buying. Its that simple.

    Reply

  2. Elizabeth (i.e. eliza4222 on plus+)
    Jan 03, 2012 @ 22:11:00

    I love all these entries…I wish I had the design ability that these folks have…I attempted a little design a couple of times…but mostly ended up just cramming stuff in…

    Reply

  3. pjsplantation/v3gasvamp1
    Jan 05, 2012 @ 14:54:16

    Hi and Happy New Year
    I agree with you all, I ended up spending my last 20 mojo to finish the first round of the event.. Didnt even bother with my other 2 kingdoms..I couldnt even log on to WR the first 3 days of the event just crashed constantly. Hope Ngmoco has a sale before the next event and I am sooo bored with the gift cart..I quit boosting months ago…

    Reply

  4. chezmah
    Jan 05, 2012 @ 23:40:36

    hi y’all !!!!
    HAPPY NEW YEAR !!!
    well, i didn’t use any mojo either, but then again, i rarely do. spent what i had accumulated on orbs to harvest as i now have such an amazing accumulation of junk items that i don’t need or want. i too, pj, am bored with the gift cart. as for the last event, well… i enjoyed my holidays with my children ( it was FABULOUS) and put the event in low priority. the payoff wasn’t anything special anyway. i’m a little po’ed that the last two items i really liked were only mojo available… so i’ve kinda detached. Furthermore, i find it hourendous that since the Thanksgiving event there has been a MAJOR PROBLEM with the social map and that 2 out of three times i try to order from an open realm, i can not !!!!! i have wasted Soooooo Much time rebooting just to place one order !!!! the crashes continue. i redesigned my whole christmas realm for over an hour… the game crashed and i LOST ALL the changes and had to restart…. TOOOOOO FRUSTRATING!
    anyway…. i’m off to africa for four months so am taking a leave of absence from WR and hope to break the addiction. will miss all you guys…. my WR buddies… but will stop back in May and see if ngmoco has solved some of the technical issues. if so, i may continue to play, if not i’ll consider saying bye to all.
    thanks to all for your past orders, your support and may your year be filled with health, happiness and some good we ruling pleasure.
    A bientôt
    chezmah

    Reply

  5. Kathy
    Jan 06, 2012 @ 05:55:50

    Happy NewYear. Wow, can’t believe time is moving so fast that I must of totally missed any Christmas gifts from ngmoco. I wonder how many WR players received . Maybe they were for next Christmas. I was sure as hell not going to boost any gifts. Ngmoco play the game, I am sure I’ve spent enough mony on mojos to get @ least one gift or did Santas knapsack have a hole in it and lost them all. Player name SpuknikJenineandkath

    Reply

    • Totalthinker
      Jan 07, 2012 @ 07:02:57

      Don’t feel bad. Only one player who has corresponded with me got most of the Christmas gifts. I only got three and I played as often as gifts were unlocked. I even was given two Woodsman’s lodges but they still don’t show up in inventory. Let’s hope this was all DeNA’s attempt to squeeze every penny out of ngmoco:) for the close of the year and that things will return to normal for a few months.

      Reply

  6. CLindy
    Apr 05, 2012 @ 13:23:07

    I saw some interesting things recently–two other kingdoms that had main realms that were extended well beyond the borders just like Kevin Toh’s. Moontown and GINS73 have also figured out how to do it. Moontown’s is particularly impressive.

    So I’ve been messing around with it, trying to do it myself, but I haven’t made any progress. They both have Merlin’s Keep in their main realm; does that have something to do with it? Or does it have something to do with stacking items onto other, very tall items? Except GINS73 has several things off to the side where there couldn’t have been anything “below” to form a base to stack on. Come to think of it, Moontown does too. And they seem to have gotten past the part of the program that won’t let you scroll too far to one side.

    So yeah–how did they do that???

    Reply

Leave a Reply

