Almost singlehandedly saving We Rule

I noticed a disturbing trend in one of my realms recently. Time and time again the harvest orb wanted to know if I would complete 666 harvests.

If you saw this often enough, wouldn’t you consider it to be an omen? I mean, this number, of all numbers, the mother of all symbolic numbers. I found it truly disturbing.

If you don’t know the significance of 666….Well, how could you not know and still live in the 21st Century? After all, we see the number in every Omen movie and just about every other episode of Supernatural. We had a president with six letters in all three names only 30 years ago, and a second whose name would have spelled “666” if he was smart enough to spell.

I knew what it signified. The coming of the Antirule. The time when We Rule would be overcome by deadly corporate interests who would replace medieval whimsy with cheap commercial greed.

I showed my findings to Carol. I asked her if this could be the end of We Rule as we know it. She said, “Add another building.”

And that’s how I saved the world of We Rule. I now have 667 buildings to harvest. Crisis averted. The Lord works in mysterious ways.

Hail Odin statue

A reader asked me to do an analysis of statues, which was timely since I had planned to do one anyway. Glad to know I’m in synch with my audience.

Most statues in We Rule are mere ornamentation, but a few deliver coins and experience. Several, such as the Ganesh statues, are gifts and can only be acquired by the luck of the draw. I included them in the Idle Income charts. But a couple can be purchased and deserve a closer look.

Just because a statue earns, doesn’t mean you should install it for income. The stone bull pillar, which costs 18000c, returns a lousy 20hcp. You’re far better off with just about anything if you want a serious return on your investment.

Odin’s statue, on the other hand, returns 183hcp every 18 hours and takes up about the same space as a grove. This is three times the return of a Poseidon fount for only twice the price (180000c). The Persian lion only costs 60000c and returns almost 90hcp every 20 hours. This is two thirds of the cost of a fount with half again the return. The Khmer Lion turns around every six hours at 120hcp for 80000c.

Odin’s statue is the newest in a series of high return statues that become available around L40. Statues tend to take up less space than other items, which can increase their value. The persian lions are minuscule compared to Odin.

So far the statues are luxury buys, which may be why they are available only at higher levels. They also tend to be limited to a few dozen per realm, which means you can’t plant as many. Players should concentrate on groves and residences first, but once you realize you are making enough to buy one or two a day (and not per week) it would be a good time to start adding a few.

As always, you shouldn’t worry about the initial investment cost. Higher priced items may take longer to pay off, but once they are paid off the performance return makes them far more valuable.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rick (@ralley)
    Mar 20, 2012 @ 05:47:50

    I was recently schooled in groves. Basically, I was told they are so last Tuesday. I can fill a realm with 196 (the maximum) groves. It nets me around 30k xp/coins per harvest. On the other hand, the Persian Lions (limit 2044), net me 2.5 million xp and 1.2 million coins every 20 hours. The Odin Statue is similarly well-endowed.

    So, yeah. Groves are a good low-level strategy. But for high-level, long-term earning, those statues rock.

    Reply

  2. Paul Rackham
    Mar 20, 2012 @ 10:25:37

    I saw your comment about 666 items and how some people may be worried about this, but I’ve heard over the years, I’m not religious myself but have friends including Priests who are, and they’ve said that 666 was one of the mistakes in the translation of the bible and the number is actually 696. Hope this helps to allay some fears.

    Reply

    • Totalthinker
      Mar 22, 2012 @ 05:17:12

      Thanks.

      Sadly, when Carol told me to plant another shop I went ahead and added 30. So now it will be 696 buildings to harvest. Had only I known earlier, I would have left it alone.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

