Has the character well run dry?

I don’t know if you’ve noticed but fewer and fewer buildings are coming with characters. We had five martial guilds introduced this week and not a single warlike character.

In the past we would have had women with bows for the sisterhood of archers, turbaned characters with daggers for the assassins’ cartel and a new wizard for the wizards’ college. Maybe another knight or Viking berserker for the warrior’s clan. This time, nothing.

I could see it for the plant buildings last week. What could they have come up with? Fly traps on four legs? Or flies swarming the fly trap? Dancing sunflowers?

There may be some good reasons for the scarcity. It’s possible that with the new retina display, the number of pixels in play make animation eat into the processor. Or bad reasons, like, perhaps, ngmoco:) let the animators go during the cash crunch.

In the past, players would request new buildings. Maybe we should request new characters instead. How about a phantom marauder swinging a ghostly battle axe? A sabertooth tiger? A crone with a cane that points and zaps? A wise man with a camel might be cool, wearing robes and a cone hat like in Bartholomew Cubbins and the Oobleck. How about an Anglican priest and Pontificating Pope? Or maybe we could get the entire Borgia family in honor of the Showtime series.

Hopefully we won’t reach a time when we’ll stop installing new buildings because we don’t want to lose the few characters we have left.

Have they given us a gryphon yet? An adult, not the baby? How about leviathan? Maybe a replica nautilus, the submarine, floating on top of a lake tile.

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Annie
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 21:10:22

    I ADORE the characters. It’s hard to pick a single favourite but I love the octopus hag character, the elephant and even the peasants that come with the farms. The game would lose a very satisfying and enjoyable aspect if the characters disappeared. Love how they all have a sound or something to say.

    Reply

  2. susanzmoon
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 22:51:17

    I’m worried that they will decide that this game is no longer profitable to run and stop designing anything. What a waste all my purchased mojo would become. All things have to end sometime, I just don’t want this to be sometime soon.

    Reply

    • Totalthinker
      Apr 27, 2012 @ 22:43:31

      See my reply to Bev Carey. The game can still be profitable but the push to expand so quickly may have put a drag in things in the aftermath. The new pace resembles the pace a year ago before things got really crazy, but we’ll have to see if they add new buildings today or next week. Remember too that new buildings slowed down just before the last event and a new event may be in the making now.

      Reply

  3. Beverly Carey
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 18:20:37

    I love the characters also. I have all of my “gardens” on one realm. I put a barn there so that the animals would make it more “real” Love the sounds that I hear when I hit the characters or buildings…..a moo? They’re all so cute. Look forward to any new ones that they can give us. Makes it more like a real world.
    DaisyBev in WeRule

    Reply

  4. Arif Wadood
    Apr 27, 2012 @ 03:32:39

    @susanzmoon i agree with you…ive noticed that we’re not getting updates as often as we used to, no new version of the game with new features, no new goals or anything, etc…i think the end is, unfortunately, near 😦

    Reply

    • Totalthinker
      Apr 27, 2012 @ 22:39:23

      This week has been especially slow, but I don’t think they’ve given up yet. We Rule remains the flagship of their iPad offerings and as long as We City and others remain, so will we rule.

      However, I noticed they are really pushing the dreamtopia release in partnership with Mobius so they may have moved or loaned some personnel to the new app. Since it looks more like Godfinger than we rule, I suspect it will not be the same draw.

      Reply

  5. Jomo36
    Apr 27, 2012 @ 23:28:00

    I love We Rule! I will miss my Pegasus and farm animals if it goes 😦 I would pay for upgrades if they wanted to make the game bigger and better, as I am used to doing with mmorpg’s. I was dissappointed that the ferris wheel wasn’t animated but I still prefer We Rule to any of the other ngmoco games.

    Reply

    • Totalthinker
      May 02, 2012 @ 03:44:08

      I think we all have favorite characters. My favorite are the fairy tree fairies but only one player ever actually saw them and he never sent the screen shot he promised. I think they were the emperor’s new fairies. Jenny Manytoes loves the black cat, but she’s still waiting for a siamese.

      Reply

  6. Jennifer du Sautoy
    Apr 28, 2012 @ 10:56:40

    The characters are my favourite thing. I love the cat and the dog, the elephant, the baby dragon with his nurse, the gryphon the green dragon, the other dragons, the phoenix the pig the horse…When was the last character, was it with the Khmer house? This game is streets ahead of the other gmoco games. I am bored with WeCity. So slow.

    Reply

  7. Jennifer du Sautoy
    May 04, 2012 @ 14:09:35

    The circus elephant could have been fun.

    Reply

  8. Thiago
    May 24, 2012 @ 14:37:15

    The ability to think like that is always a joy to bleohd

    Reply

  9. contortionistjasmine
    Jan 16, 2013 @ 02:57:12

    I need to collect friendly orders at a light castle, dark castle and ice castle.. Can somebody help me? Thanks

    Reply

Leave a Reply

