Is We Rule winding down?

Players have been worried that ngmoco:) may be dropping the ball on We Rule since they’ve slowed down the pace of new item development. In the comments section this week I mentioned to Susan Moon and others that their focus on Dreamtopia has probably been the culprit.

The night I posted ngmoco:) proved me right again by making the only item released this week a clone of the Dreamtopia birdhouse. It’s free, but the hourly return rate makes it a poor draw to Dreamtopia.

Does Dreamtopia stack up well to We Rule? Will it grab Farmville’s market share while We Rule drifts away leaving players with millions invested in mojo for a game that no longer plays?

As you may guess by looking at it, Dreamtopia steals from Dragonville, Godfinger, Cityville and, most of all, We Rule. Maybe a little Trade Nations, now that I think of it. The question is, will players spend even more on a mojo product?

Players who have tried Dreamtopia will feel that they’ve played the game before. They have. It’s We Rule with a different motif. Instead of building a medieval kingdom, you build people’s dreams. And the game takes place on a floating island. Other than that you grow crops (emotions) from clouds, invest in buildings, trade with other players and level up.

The graphics seem to be inspired by Godfinger (if not by the same design team). The goals are more like Cityville’s than We Rule’s. Each new character has a dream and you have to plant, build and buy to fulfill that dream. But the goals function almost identically to We Rule’s.

Just in case you didn’t get the connection to We Rule, ngmoco:) introduced a rock festival event this weekend. You have to order from the tour bus and sign six singers for your band to win a prize. When a musician shows up you audition them, but the only way to make sure they end up staying with the band is to spend stardust.

Look familiar? Dreamtopia launched an event on their opening weekend. You don’t catch dragons, but you do sign members to your band.

I can’t predict the success of this game, but I have a feeling the charm will wear off more quickly than it did with Adventure Bay, which I enjoyed a hell of a lot more. Many players may remember that one. You were a pirate, adventurer who could go on treasure hunting missions. Not only did you order from other player’s shops, you boosted their voyages so you could share in the swag.

Adventure Bay folded after a few months. I suspect the main reason was that players were inundated with We Rule, We Farm and too many other games. They could only spend so much on stupid game cash, so something had to give.

This doesn’t mean Dreamtopia won’t catch on. But I’ve only seen two genuinely innovative social network games since We Rule, Snoopy’s Fair and Battle Nations. The odds are stacked against Dreamtopia except as a game to attract new users and social network gamers who have already abandoned games like We Rule and want something novel. The fact that it’s really a Droid app makes me feel the real target market may be players relatively new to tablets and smart phones.

The best way to make sure We Rule remains a priority with ngmoco:) is to make it your priority. I will probably play a few more days to see if it gets any better, but I will not spend money for stardust. If you genuinely think Dreamtopia is a better game than We Rule, by all means you should play it. But if you are heavily invested in We Rule, show your support for the game by spending your money there.

I have seen a lot of social network games since I first reviewed We Rule and none of them have charmed me long enough to stick with them this long. Some games, like Trade Nations, I open once a day to collect my daily reward in case I get interested again. And then I close them. Most I play for a week.

The best way to keep them competing with We Rule is to divert my money to them.

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jennifer du Sautoy
    Apr 30, 2012 @ 13:30:30

    Dreamtopia is vastly inferior to We Rule. It has a poky area to play in, the buildings are ugly lumps, the notices crowd the screen, it is really hard to move things around and the basic premise does not appeal to me at all. What I love about We Rule is the space and scope to create little worlds that almost tell a story. I can and do spend hours fiddling with it and so far the cost of mojo has been money well spent. I did spend money in Dreamtopia to complete the task but I regret it and I am on the brink of ditching the game.

    Reply

  2. Jennifer du Sautoy
    Apr 30, 2012 @ 13:41:02

    PS And the characters creep me out.

    Reply

  3. Mariane
    Apr 30, 2012 @ 18:59:25

    Not interested in the character’s dreams, so why should I fulfil them? Don’t like the artwork. The artists who do We Rule, We City, We Farm, and even Adventure Bay did a nice job. I miss Adventure Bay. It had potential, but we never got to add islands.

    Reply

    • Totalthinker
      May 02, 2012 @ 03:45:54

      So far consensus seems to be against dreamtopia. I’m sure some players who never played We Rule might like it. Once you go Rule nothing else is cool.

      Reply

      • ellylons525
        May 02, 2012 @ 08:25:02

        Hate dreamtopia….characters are creepy…no other game comes close to playability as WR does. I have a droid phone & put we rule there too altho that game is run by mobage (doesnt play as smooth as on apple products & the mobacoin is an absolute nightmare). Even if wr departs, i’ll probably never get this involved in another one.
        ellylons525

  4. susanzmoon
    May 02, 2012 @ 05:41:01

    Lmao :)~

    Reply

  5. ellylons525
    May 02, 2012 @ 08:17:40

    Alas, I must agree with this. I have kept the inevitable at bay with my current playing style…..i no longer plant crops & rarely place orders elsewhere (tho i still visit others’ lands to see their decorating abilities). Even tho i don’t grow crops, i still have accumulated massive amounts of gold but it definitely slowed down the xp part so that the end will take longer (out of the core group of players i started with 2 yrs ago, i am the only one who hasnt reached lvl 75 yet. (jeez, hard to believe this game held my interest enough for 2 yrs of minimum twice daily playing). No other game has ever kept me interested for this long. I hope its not the end as i have sooo much in inventory & was looking forward to decorating my final few realms….heck, i have enough to keep me busy for awhile longer (but if ngmoco shuts down their servers, then no one can play)…..it HAS been a very fun ride & i sincerely thank my over 500 friends in the game for helping me along!!
    ellylons525

    Reply

  6. jesschg
    May 02, 2012 @ 09:16:34

    I’m Ngmoco:) fans, most I’m playing most of their games, i’m so disappointed the new game Dreamtopia as well, it’s really like Adventure Bay. I still playing We rule now, it’s the most valuable game play compared with those similar games.

    Reply

  7. jesschg
    May 02, 2012 @ 09:20:57

    I’m Ngmoco:) fans too, I have been played most of their games, but disappointed to play with Dreamtopia as well, it’s really like Adventure Bay. I still found We Rule was the most valuable game play compared with those similar games.

    Reply

  8. susanzmoon
    May 04, 2012 @ 06:33:57

    You know what I would like to see in a chart? maximum quanities per realm. I have over 450 small perisan residence and over 600 bunny residence and I havent hit any limits. so if an item is capped at 50 it could keep me from buying that item. Just a thought.

    Reply

    • Totalthinker
      May 05, 2012 @ 00:17:35

      Unfortunately it changes by item. I was considering it then I found Thor’s statue which, currently doesn’t seem to have a limit. So I’m estimating 196 but I there may be a higher cap.

      There is no limit to the number of items you can install.

      But here are a few I’ve noticed:
      Golden Temple: 50
      Dragonslayer den: 35
      Asian and Mayan residence: 50

      Cabana: 110

      Thor, at least 196

      Persian and residences since: 196

      Spanish Hacienda: 10

      Magic Crops: 50

      Tree groves: 196

      Wisdom groves: 50

      These are items purchased with coins. There seems to be no limit on items purchased with mojo, but since I’m not going to spend enough mojo to max out on anything, I couldn’t say.

      Reply

  9. Terri
    May 06, 2012 @ 15:22:04

    I totally agree with the above thoughts on Dreamtopia… We Rule is far superior in too many ways to even mention… I haven’t deleted the app yet… Have picked up a few new plus+ (mobage) friends which is bonus for playing WR… Will start selling items or putting them in inventory soon and will close Dreamtopia down.

    Maybe you can help me with this question… One reason I decided to play is to see if my Experience Points (or whatever) would go up in my terrirein acct… In other plus+ games your xp points from achievements and levelling up were combined…is this still happening now that mobage has taken over?

    Thnx!

    Terri

    Reply

  10. Alice
    Nov 23, 2012 @ 15:23:32

    Anyone know of plans to offer a game as good as We Rule? If not, I’ll drop everything soon…some really good players are already placing “Bye” notices on their main realms and that’s really too bad. Glad Dreamtopia went away…anyone know of a game similar to We Rule’s quality?? Thx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

