No news is no news

Last week I wondered to myself if we weren’t in for another event this week. This seems to be the pattern after a week without new stuff. So today, when We Rule asked me to shut down for new content I figured, “Aha, this is it.”

Instead I have been unable to log on in the hours since. All I get is the message, “unable to connect.”

For a brief instant I thought we were back in business when I got a new message asking me to shut down for even more new content, but when I logged back in I was unable to connect yet again. I finally decided to post and start a whole new wave of speculation about ngmoco:)’s future.

All I’ve seen when I tried to play today is “unable to connect.” Does this portend an upgrade or new event? Or are we facing a We Rule apocalypse? Or did someone screw up and disconnect the servers? We can only wait and see.

It’s not that they haven’t had their servers down before, but never this long and never without a message warning us that the servers would be down for maintenance or upgrades.

By the time you read this, the suspense may be over, but at this second in time I have to wonder if there is another upgrade coming (with all of the bugs that follow), a new event, perhaps with the Sta-Puft marshmallow man and other movie monsters, the long awaited release of the blockbuster building that will deliver more than 20000cp, or a going out of business sign.

I, however, believe that speculation is a crap shoot. Throw enough speculations out there and one of them is bound to happen. That’s why I think I have my bases covered with the speculations above. Whatever happens now, I feel confident that next week I will be able to say, “I predicted it.”

Dream heights fails to reach

In the meantime, for those of you who were disappointed with ngmoco:)’s newest release Dreamtopia, take heart. Zynga is now pushing “Dream Heights,” their new game where you build a custom condo tower. It might sound original if I hadn’t already downloaded at least three similar games. And they all suck.

Maybe if Zynga created Jinga Towers where you build a tower with shops and apartments and then have to remove them one-by-one without collapsing the tower. Then you could see all the animated characters scream and flail their arms as they fall helplessly as their tower crumbles around them because you should have left the gay bar where it was. That might be as fun as Dreamtopia. Which still wasn’t really fun.

But it does mean Zynga, ngmoco:)’s big bully of a competitor, is feeling heat too. So We Rule fans can at least have a moment of schadenfreude to compensate for our crushed dreams of dreamtopia.

Is the game running again? I’ll quit writing to check….

No, still not connecting.

Oh, I forgot one other possibility. The new item may just be another collection of residences and shops. Or new crops.

Now I think I have my bases covered. Remember, whatever they end up doing, I predicted it here.

Postscript from the evening

Well, I finally got back in, had to wait for new content to download, relaunched and discovered my predictions were all wrong. In fact, the new content is…well there is no new content. I should have seen it coming but I didn’t.

It’s possible the changes will show up overnight in the form of an event, but knowing ngmoco:) I wouldn’t be surprised if nothing happened.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cyndy Hanna
    May 14, 2012 @ 21:34:22

    Pretty much the same thing happened to me but when I did get through I had lost my NE and NW realms and everything in them. Also lost a bunch of mushroom crops since I couldn’t get into the game. After that i could load the game but kept telling me to re launch. I have sent an e-mail to We Rule support.

    Reply

  2. Susan
    May 14, 2012 @ 22:48:55

    I thought it was me because I was traveling. But thank goodness I have you to dash my hopes! Just kidding. Well if it is a great new building. I’m in great shape financially, unlike the time they released the dragonslayer and I blew all my cash the night before on dumb stuff. If its bad news I’ll cry to you later! 🙂

    Reply

  3. Jennifer du Sautoy
    May 16, 2012 @ 08:43:51

    But I did get something…2,000gc as part of “rewards week”. I think that was on Monday. Nothing else as yet.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

