Leaving the farms

If it seems boring lately, you still have to remember that ngmoco:) introduces new items at a faster rate than other games, with the possible exception of Snoopy’s Street Fair. But their new products usually require Snoopy Bucks. Trade Nations can go for weeks without anything new, and, well, I haven’t played anything else in so long I can’t keep up anymore.

I even gave up on Trade Nations. The only reason I kept playing was because I had 32 consecutive weeks and was waiting for another cool thing to show up. I quit actually doing anything but check in a couple of weeks ago. Then, Saturday, my wife and I had to get up early to attend a hog fry with the Cherokee Nation in Belton, Tx. I completely forgot about Trade Nation, my streak ended and there was no need to play any more.

Trade Nations did have one feature I really wish ngmoco:) would pick up for We Rule. You can leave a message for other players that pops up whenever they visit. As soon as they load your kingdom they can see a dialogue with a personalized message if you want to leave one. You can wax poetic, let people know you’re on vacation, or tell them to leave your shit alone because you can make more money ordering from yourself than from other players (which, admittedly, is rather bizarre).

No “gone fishing” sign which people ignore. No ambiguity. You’re message is there for everyone who drops by. How hard is that? Just something to think about for the “We Rule Superquest” release.

This is my farewell message for Trade Nations. Maybe I shouldn’t have waxed quite so poetic. It took a couple of weeks for other players to figure out I really was retiring from the game.

Maybe one day I’ll write about the game that I loved but which pissed me off more and more so often I finally said to hell with it (in spite of spending way to much money on their version of mojo called nanopoads) and haven’t played since. If you want to talk about a game that gave an advantage to players who spent money, that would be the one.

Okay, I’ll talk. One of the things that pissed me off was that I invested a lot of time earning credits to build their new heavy tank, as did a number of other players. After finally building my fleet up enough to actually win at least half of my battles with other players, they introduced a super tank which players could buy with nanopods. Sure enough, within days everybody with money had super tanks and the rest of us were back to losing four out of five battles.

So when I think about We Rule, I put things in perspective. The game is fun while you build your kingdoms, once you have reached L70 you will start generating enough coins to redesign as often as you want, and with the harvest orb you can harvest all 13 realms in less than half an hour.

Except for farms

Time to leave the farm.

Farms take more time than any aspect of the game. When you’re beginning, it’s no big deal, but by the time you reach L70 you have 35 farms in addition to any magic farms.

Nor does ngmoco:) make farms easy to work with. You have to look up the crop each time you plant one. If you’re lucky, the game will remember the last crop you planted.

Other games, such as Farmville and Cityville let you pick a crop and then touch the plots until you want to change crops. When you have a hundred or more farms that becomes painful.

Farmville even lets you buy a planter so you can run your finger across farms and plant row after row at once. You have to pay farm cash for gas, but you have the option.

So why would you want to keep farms? Because at lower levels they are among the best earners available and plots are cheap. You can pay for your next crop with your current harvest.

At the advanced levels, however, the cost v. return advantage loses out to more expensive items such as the golden temple and some of the new residences, such as the Persian and (admittedly ugly) creepy residence. When you earn a million or more coins every two or three days, the residences are easily afforded. When you earn a couple of million a day, so are the golden temples.

I’ve already yanked every farm to inventory and it makes the game much quicker to play.

Even before that I discovered I could rotate planting and harvest times. As long as I stuck to cauliflower I could do half the farms on one round, and the other half on the next. But the time finally came and I yanked them all. My revenues have actually improved thanks to the high return buildings I was able to stack on to what used to be farm land.

Remember, however, I was already at L75 before I even considered this option. But when you reach that level you may be looking for ways to make the game quicker and easier.

Upgrade request summary

To summarize my upgrade suggestions:

  • Customizable greeting dialogues when players visit
  • Let players keep planting the same crop without having to reselect it for each plot.
1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Susan
    May 24, 2012 @ 09:00:25

    My biggest timesaver would be for the trees and buildings tab to stay where you left off. So if I’m placing roads and I do 10 straight. When I go back to corners I have to scroll to find them again. Instead it could pick back up right where I left it. It would be great for designers ! But dare I dream! So here’s to skull houses at memorial day time of the year and maybe flowers at Halloween ? I’m not complaining, mind you, thid is still my favorite. And I still keep a few farms so people know I’m coming back every few hours. WE ALL RULE! moontown. ,
    Susan Escujuri

    Reply

Leave a Reply

